What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Whirlwind 200RV Inspection Photos

ronschreck

Well Known Member
I have been flying my RV-8 for three years and the 650-hour prop inspection was due. Yesterday I took off at dawn and flew to Austinburg, Ohio, home of Whirlwind Aviation and witnessed the inspection from start to finish. I was back home in North Carolina just as the sun was setting. I saved the $160 shipping fee and it cost me less than $100 in fuel to make the 5-hour round trip. The inspection costs $500 and after seeing all the work that goes into it, about 15 man-hours, I consider it a bargain. I wouldn't try this (the inspection) at home, but the experience sure gave me an insight into what makes this prop work.

I regularly outrun 200 HP RV-8's with my 180 HP mount and I attribute that advantage to the Whirlwind 200RV propeller. It is a marvel of engineering and the service provided by Greg Anderson and Paul Kershaw at the prop shop is unmatched. Thanks, guys!

DSCN8045.JPG

Below is a link to a web album of 42 pictures of the inspection process:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bjABvNHfyxmQEzS67

Last edited:
Thanks Ron

Great post Ron.......Thanks for taking the time to do this.
The information is very good.
Makes me want a RV-200 prop more and more.

Excellent company

Hi Ron,

Many know the benefits of WW and the 200RV for our airframes, smooth, light and efficient. Those 50 or so that took advantage of Group Buy will experience the same. 450 on mine now and going strong

You definitely can't go wrong with this prop and company.

Thanks for the slide show. I always wondered what was in there!!

Thanks.

Thanks Ron. Great pictorial. Looking forward to getting my prop in December...

Spacer ring

Ron,

One of your photos had the caption: