VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 12-08-2018, 04:39 PM
gvgoff99's Avatar
gvgoff99 gvgoff99 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 454
Default Is GTR 200 Stndby freq flip/flop from two GPS possible?

Garmin GTR 200 Standby

I have tandem seating and a GPS 660 mounted in the rear and a GPS 796 mounted up front. The only radio is a GTR 200. I plan to use the RS232 (out) from the 660 and use the touch screen to input frequencies to the standby freq via the RS232 in (pin 24) on the GTR 200 for the rear seat person.
The GPS 796 has the same capability for inserting into standby. It would be useful to have the same standby freq change capability from the 796 but there is only one RS232 In on the GTR 200.

1. Would it be possible to use “On-Off-On” toggle switch to change which GPS is sending standby freq info to the GTR 200?
2. If it were feasible, would it be a problem to switch between the two GPS while all the electronics are turned on during flight? (The 232 signal interruption from one GPS to another would not "confuse" the GTR 200?)

Thanks, George
__________________
George Goff RV-6A (Flying 3/7/2006 )(Houston, TX)

Last edited by gvgoff99 : 12-08-2018 at 06:03 PM. Reason: Change Title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2018, 09:04 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,099
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gvgoff99 View Post
Garmin GTR 200 Standby

I have tandem seating and a GPS 660 mounted in the rear and a GPS 796 mounted up front. The only radio is a GTR 200. I plan to use the RS232 (out) from the 660 and use the touch screen to input frequencies to the standby freq via the RS232 in (pin 24) on the GTR 200 for the rear seat person.
The GPS 796 has the same capability for inserting into standby. It would be useful to have the same standby freq change capability from the 796 but there is only one RS232 In on the GTR 200.

1. Would it be possible to use “On-Off-On” toggle switch to change which GPS is sending standby freq info to the GTR 200?
2. If it were feasible, would it be a problem to switch between the two GPS while all the electronics are turned on during flight? (The 232 signal interruption from one GPS to another would not "confuse" the GTR 200?)

Thanks, George
Hello George,

We haven't tested this, but what you suggest should work since it never ties the Aera 660 and Aera 796 RS-232 transmitters together.

Please contact us directly by phone or email if you have additional questions.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2018, 10:33 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,228
Default

With some diodes to ensure the two GPS' don't try to send to each other, you could possibly wire it up without the switch. The question would be what happens to the GTR if two GPS' try to send a frequency at the same time.

Don't forget to wire the frequency swap button to the back seat as well...
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2018, 04:41 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,099
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowflake View Post
With some diodes to ensure the two GPS' don't try to send to each other, you could possibly wire it up without the switch.
Sorry, but that wouldn't work. Each Aera is constantly transmitting NMEA and VHF data including frequencies and frequency identifiers for hundreds of nearby airports and the airports in the flight plan.

This allows you to press and rotate the knobs on the GTR 200 and always have an airport frequency list for the nearest airports without having to look it up.

The infrequent command to send a single selected standby frequency to the GTR 200 is a negligible amount of the total communication which is occurring.

Tying two Aera transmitters together with diodes would create mayhem with both of them constantly stepping on each other. It is likely that nothing would work if you did this.

Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.