VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 02-09-2018, 11:13 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,091
Post G3X Touch V5.70 with GMC 507 Support

Hello,

The full list of G3X Touch V5.70 changes/features is shown on the software history page, but we wanted to discuss a few of the features here.

First, we have been busy developing/certifying a new autopilot control panel for the certified GFC 500 autopilot, and we are now pleased to announce that the GMC 507 is supported by the new G3X Touch V5.70 software and the new G5 V5.10 software. Software support for G3X is forthcoming as soon as we can complete developing and testing the changes.



The GMC 507 is physically the same width and height as the GMC 307, and will mount in the same panel hole or in a new mark width (6.25 inches wide) rack if you want to mount it in the radio stack. The GMC 507 also uses the same 15 pin connector as the GMC 307, but the wiring is a little different due to the new features it provides. Since the GMC 507 connects to the CAN bus, there is no longer a need to run dedicated RS-232 wiring from the autopilot control panel to the roll servo, so this reduces autopilot installation wiring. The GMC 507 is also expected to sell for the same price as the GMC 307, and will be available for ordering from your Garmin dealer very soon.

The GMC 507 provides some features not relevant to the non-certified market, but a few features are important to the non-certified market, especially if you are installing the GMC 507 in a G5 installation without a G3X Touch system.



For both G5 and G3X Touch installations, there is a new TRK mode button, and support for a TO/GA button input in installations where there is no GEA 24 installed to provide this input. Also important to G5 only installations is the audio output from the GMC 507 that provides the following autopilot related audio outputs:
1) Autopilot Disconnect Tone
2) “Engaging Autopilot” voice alert for ESP auto-level engagement
3) “Airspeed Airspeed” voice alert for under-speed and over-speed protection engagement
4) Altitude Preselect Tone (plays at 1000 feet of target and again at 200 feet)

An additional software feature provided by both G3X Touch V5.70 and G5 V5.10 is the addition of standard rate turn markers on the roll arc. These markers move in/out on the roll arc depending on the speed of the aircraft and the bank angle required to maintain a standard turn rate.





Another customer requested feature added to G3X Touch V5.70 is additional information displayed on both the traffic page and map page when you touch a traffic target. For example, the selected target ground speed and closure rate are now shown in the pop-up traffic target information box.



Let us know if you have questions.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2018, 03:10 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,021
Default

Great stuff TeamX!
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2018, 06:35 PM
digidocs's Avatar
digidocs digidocs is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: -
Posts: 473
Default

Would it be possible to get a screenshot of the new QWERTY keyboard?
That sounds interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2018, 10:52 PM
Jeff A's Avatar
Jeff A Jeff A is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 353
Question GMC307

One question regarding the new software...is there any chance that it impacted the GMC307 in some way? Upon initial AP engagement, no mode chevrons appeared on the GMC. Disengaged and re-engaged, and only two (no AP or NAV) chevrons appeared. Disengaged and re-engaged again, and all appropriate chevrons illuminated. Only thought to snap a picture at the second instance. I didn't notice any other issues through the remainder of the flight, but also flew quite a bit without the autopilot engaged.

__________________
Jeff Atkinson
RV-8 #82594 Flying since May 2012
Barrett XP-360, Catto 3-Blade, Dual G3X Touch, GTN-650, VP-X

Last edited by Jeff A : 02-09-2018 at 10:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2018, 08:48 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 4,873
Default

Will I be able to use the current GMC307 232 input for control or is the 507 required to be on the CAN bus? (upgrade with minimal wiring changes).
__________________
Walt Aronow, Dallas, TX (52F) RV7A, IO360, C/S, 1500+hrs

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2018, 09:03 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,091
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff A View Post
One question regarding the new software...is there any chance that it impacted the GMC307 in some way? Upon initial AP engagement, no mode chevrons appeared on the GMC. Disengaged and re-engaged, and only two (no AP or NAV) chevrons appeared. Disengaged and re-engaged again, and all appropriate chevrons illuminated. Only thought to snap a picture at the second instance. I didn't notice any other issues through the remainder of the flight, but also flew quite a bit without the autopilot engaged.
Hello Jeff,

We will certainly look into this, but we confirmed that the GMC 307 worked correctly when we were testing the V5.70 software.

When you go into configuration mode and select the GMC 307 on the System Information page, there is a touch screen button to test the annunciator lights on the GMC 307, but it sounds like they are functional.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 02-10-2018 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2018, 09:30 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,091
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
Will I be able to use the current GMC307 232 input for control or is the 507 required to be on the CAN bus? (upgrade with minimal wiring changes).
Hello Walt,

Like the autopilot servos, the GMC 507 only uses the CAN bus for communications with the displays and G5, so installing a GMC 507 also frees up an RS-232 port on the PFD normally used for a GMC 305/307 connection.

The GMC 507 also receives software updates over the CAN bus like the other CAN devices in the system.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2018, 06:23 PM
dweyant dweyant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 07TS
Posts: 446
Default

Has anyone else had any autopilot issues after this upgrade?

I did the upgrade the other day and everything seemed to go fine.

Went to fly this afternoon and the autopilot keeps failing on me.

Looking at the log file the error message is:

AP Fail/Abnormal disengage/00000004

When I power cycle the AP Panel and servos it will either fail on startup, or work for a few seconds up to a couple minutes before it fails again.

Thanks,

-Dan
__________________
Dan Weyant
RV-9A N96KD
Done and Flying 4/30/2015
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2018, 11:24 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dweyant View Post
Has anyone else had any autopilot issues after this upgrade?

I did the upgrade the other day and everything seemed to go fine.

Went to fly this afternoon and the autopilot keeps failing on me.

Looking at the log file the error message is:

AP Fail/Abnormal disengage/00000004

When I power cycle the AP Panel and servos it will either fail on startup, or work for a few seconds up to a couple minutes before it fails again.

Thanks,

-Dan
I spent 2 full days troubleshooting this exact problem this week with the same version of software. It sounds like we have a software bug!
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2018, 11:50 AM
dweyant dweyant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 07TS
Posts: 446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
I spent 2 full days troubleshooting this exact problem this week with the same version of software. It sounds like we have a software bug!
Jesse,

Did you figure out anything? Any way to go back rev to 5.6?

I have a 3+ hour flight tomorrow, and I'm spoiled, I'd really like my AP to work.

-Dan
__________________
Dan Weyant
RV-9A N96KD
Done and Flying 4/30/2015
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.