VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 12-08-2018, 09:22 AM
BoilermakerRV's Avatar
BoilermakerRV BoilermakerRV is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Danville, IN (West of Indy)
Posts: 189
Question Mounting GTX 345R

Where and how are folks mounting their GTX 345R? I have a rough concept, but would like to hear from others (RV-7A slider). Pictures would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Michael
Danville, IN

RV-7A Fuselage
N317PU Reserved
2018 Dues paid (August 2018)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2018, 10:05 AM
Mountain Time Mountain Time is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 49
Default Good Question!

Iím putting a GTX45R into my 6 as part of a G3X Touch/GTN650 based panel upgrade, and Iíve been wondering the same thing - the other LRUs are small enough that finding a spot for them wonít be a problem, but the transponder is sizable enough that Iíve not yet come up with a good spot for it.

What say you experts whoíve gone down this path already?
__________________
John H.Wiegenstein
Hansville, WA
RV-6 flying, 0-360 CS, 500+hr
KPWT - Bremerton National
www.hellerwiegenstein.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2018, 10:47 AM
Mark33 Mark33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 473
Default

Iím installing the same unit in my -7 build. I donít know the exact location that Iím going to install it yet but I think it needs to be in an area thatís readily accessible. Out of all the rest of the avionics installed, the transponder is the one piece of equipment thatíll need to be able to come out on a regular basis to get checked. Iím planning on fabricating a couple of hinged fold-down trays between the sub panel and the firewall on which to mount all of my remote mount avionics, but I think Iíll probably mount the transponder on the bottom side of one of the fold-down trays just so itís easily accessible/removable.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2018, 11:00 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,207
Default Behind the subpanel

One place that works pretty well is behind the subpanel directly behind the primary display. You can make a reinforcement ring in the subpanel and cut out the sub-panel for the transponder to slide through. The mounting of the transponder is the same as you would mount it in the panel, i.e. I would use aluminum angle on either side of the tray and create an anchor strap to the rear of the unit. The transponder can then be installed and removed through the display opening in the panel.

Thanks,
Levi
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2018, 11:03 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 4,981
Default

I like the aft baggage bulhead location on the 7/9 if possible. Running the wires can be a bit if a challenge on a flying aircraft so they go up front sometimes depending on the setup. I also like having the short antenna cable run when its all in the aft section. My own aircraft has the old 23ES on the bulkhead, easy to get to and works great.

Steve's location above is also a good one, but easier to do when building than retrofitting, so it all depends.
__________________
Walt Aronow, Dallas, TX (52F) RV7A, IO360, C/S, 1500+hrs

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154

Last edited by Walt : 12-08-2018 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2018, 11:54 AM
Ian Coates Ian Coates is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Derbyshire UK
Posts: 26
Default

I put mine underneath the VPX unit and attached it with small angle stock to the rails that were made as shown in the VPX installation, it sits sideways and slides in and out nicely.
__________________
VAF Donation 2019
RV7 Built and Flying
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2018, 10:52 AM
Mountain Time Mountain Time is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 49
Default

Good tips, gentlemen, I'll do some mockup next time I get to the hangar.
__________________
John H.Wiegenstein
Hansville, WA
RV-6 flying, 0-360 CS, 500+hr
KPWT - Bremerton National
www.hellerwiegenstein.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2019, 12:52 PM
CJ in EP CJ in EP is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Eden Prairie, MN
Posts: 45
Default What Levi said...

Based on the information provided by Levi a few posts ago, this is how it worked out for my install:

View from the back of the sub panel


View at the front of the sub panel


I'm pretty happy with the result, and the harness on my Stein panel reaches perfectly in this location. Thanks for the tip, Levi!
__________________
Chris Hrabe
Eden Prairie, MN
RV-9A
Finishing Engine / Starting Panel
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:20 PM
snoop9erdog snoop9erdog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ in EP View Post
Based on the information provided by Levi a few posts ago, this is how it worked out for my install:

View from the back of the sub panel


View at the front of the sub panel


I'm pretty happy with the result, and the harness on my Stein panel reaches perfectly in this location. Thanks for the tip, Levi!
Sent a PM to you Chris
__________________
Ed Avila
St. Johns, AZ (SJN)
N646A RV9
Worlds longest RV build...but getting there
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:36 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,842
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark33 View Post
I’m installing the same unit in my -7 build. I don’t know the exact location that I’m going to install it yet but I think it needs to be in an area that’s readily accessible. Out of all the rest of the avionics installed, the transponder is the one piece of equipment that’ll need to be able to come out on a regular basis to get checked. I’m planning on fabricating a couple of hinged fold-down trays between the sub panel and the firewall on which to mount all of my remote mount avionics, but I think I’ll probably mount the transponder on the bottom side of one of the fold-down trays just so it’s easily accessible/removable.

Mark
Does it really have to be that accessible? The FAA-required transponder checks can be done with the unit in place - the only adjustments needed are for altitude encoding and they can be done by front panel programming I bet.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.