What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Look what I found in the oil screen...

aero_tango

Look what I found in the oil screen...

AF1QipOd4EXH8aAwCxFHTa5ffdTWAw74EM4HiEPEOSI

NdTuMFT44rcreSj5A

I did an oil change today, and as usual, I removed the oil succion screen to inspect for any debris...this is what I found.
Not sure what it is, but it looks like remains from a ball bearing. These 2 large debris stick to a magnet.

Seeking unbiased opinions before I call my engine shop tomorrow. Any idea what this is? Obviously, the aircraft is grounded for now

Background:
O-540 B4B5, freshly overhauled (ONLY 60 hrs since OH)
Engine never missed a beat...runs great.
No large debris found at the first oil change (only two tiny slivers <.100’’ long)
I was running on mineral oil, and was planning to switch to regular oil today...

Last edited:
Oof... sorry. I am by no means a lycoming expert, but that piece on the left does not look like a ball bearing to me. Looks like some sort of hold down for a tube (oil pick up?).

Do you have any other angles of the chunks?

Maybe magnetos bearing....

I looked at the o-540 part catalogue, and the only ball bearing I found is for the magnetos, PN 67542.
Looks like the ball retainer failed. See link below. It shows actual image of the magneto bearing. The debris found looks like the inner ball retainer.
I? ll contact my engine shop tomorrow, but for sure, the magnetos will come off for inspection.
https://pilotshq.com/lycoming-bearing-ball-67542-p-7762.html
Mike.

I am absolutely sure that neither of those pieces came from ball bearings.

I have no idea what pieces like that would be doing inside an engine.

Sure does look like a piece of the bearing cage from the picture posted. Luckily, the mags are easy to pull.

That piece on the left is not part of a ball bearing. Can't really tell about the piece on the right.