VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2020, 10:00 AM
PittsCondor's Avatar
PittsCondor PittsCondor is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Adams, Tn
Posts: 35
Default Looking for some wiring advice GNX375 and GTR200B

We are going to install the new Garmin GNX375 Nav/ADSB Transponder and a Garmin GTR200B in our RV7A. Currently we have on old King KLN35A GPS and ICOM 200 Com. The new eqiupment will fit into our current panel cut outs. My question is: Should try and use our current wiring or would it be better to buy the the new equipment with 4 foot harnesses already made? The new Com radio has built in Intercom so we will be removing the intercom system to.

The following is a complete list of what we plan to remove:
KLN35A GPS
ICom 200
Transponder
Intercom

Incoder? Maybe if better to buy the GAE 12 Encoder.

We also have an old 2 axis autopilot that it would be great if we could interface with new 375. It's a Navaid Devices autopilot

Looking to install at a later date: Dual G5's or 1 G5 and G3x, plus Garmin autopilot.

I'm not a wiring guy so this is not my area of expertise. Any help / advice will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
K. Register
2019 Dues Paid
CFI, CFII, MEL
RV7A - 2nd owner - Loving it
1941 Aeronca Defender - Sold - not missing it
Pitts S1S - Sold - missing it
Pitts S1C - Sold - missing it
Mooney M20C (2) - Sold
Cessna 172 - Sold
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2020, 05:15 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 615
Default

I would say all new wire harnesses is the way to go vs. trying to salvage the old. Keep the old harnesses to sell with the used equipment (albeit cut off somewhere).

New tested harness really is the best and fastest way to go. Since you are not comfortable with that sort of thing I would suggest you have either Stein Air or Park Rapids aviation (or similar) make up your harnesses. When the new equipment arrives I would mount the items and measure the systems runs for the wiring. Send your measurements with the connector kits that came with the avionics to the harness maker. Advise the harnessing contractor whehter or not you included service loops in your measurements. I find it best to just give the nominal lengths and let the harness guy add a service loop on his own.

Jim
__________________
RV-8
RV-3B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2020, 07:06 AM
PittsCondor's Avatar
PittsCondor PittsCondor is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Adams, Tn
Posts: 35
Default Expected cost for a wiring harness?

Thanks Jim,

I did as you requested and got 2 quotes to have wiring harnesses custom made. The prices I have to build a wiring harness that would wire the GPS, Autopilot, Com, Magnameter is around $4,000 and I would then install it myself. Curious if this price is in line with what others have paid? I have been told that Stien is booked out past October so I did not request a quote from him. If anyone has a shop that they would like to recommend please do.

Thanks,

Keith
__________________
K. Register
2019 Dues Paid
CFI, CFII, MEL
RV7A - 2nd owner - Loving it
1941 Aeronca Defender - Sold - not missing it
Pitts S1S - Sold - missing it
Pitts S1C - Sold - missing it
Mooney M20C (2) - Sold
Cessna 172 - Sold
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2020, 07:32 AM
Waiex-guy Waiex-guy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rocky Point, NY
Posts: 36
Default

If possible, make a definitive list of the near future upgrades you want to make and have the new harnesses include those.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2020, 09:27 AM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 172
Default

Keith,

I've had good luck with Avionics Systems out of Leesburg, VA.

Their # is 703-669-2669.


Cheers!
__________________
Brian Decker
Retired Firmware Guy and Airplane Builder

2018 RV-7 QB -- Built, Flying
2007 RV-7 QB -- Built, Drowned, Resurrected and flying
1998 RV-8 QB -- Started, Sold
1986 Mooney 205SE
1980 Mooney 231

Aided and abetted building a number of other RV's.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2020, 09:43 AM
deene deene is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 387
Default

I install panel system for local builders. I recommend that you buy the equipment and the harness from the same source. We go with this approach for lowest cost and to allow the harness and equipment to be tested before installation.
__________________
Deene Ogden.
N399AD RV-12...flying
N299AD RV8 QB, IO-390X, BA prop...SOLD
N199AD One Design...SOLD
N99AD BD4, flew for 22 years...SOLD
EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
CFII, MEI, CFIG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2020, 11:27 AM
SteinAir SteinAir is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,470
Default

Keep in mind that if you use a G5 (or G3X) either now or in the future you can completely eliminate the need for a secondary encoder - be it the small built in one or remote one...and therefor put those $$'s towards said G5 or G3X. Just some more to chew on!

My 2 cents as usual.

Cheers,
Stein
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:15 AM
decathlon737's Avatar
decathlon737 decathlon737 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 340
Default Stark Avionics

Could try Stark Avionics in Columbus GA.
__________________
Bill Woods
RV8 sold 180 hrs. of pure joy
(Nov 2018) Bought 7A Tip up
project, converting to tailwheel
slider (just because)
Thunderbolt YIO390
Hartzell BA
Steinair Panel (WOW)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:03 AM
PittsCondor's Avatar
PittsCondor PittsCondor is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Adams, Tn
Posts: 35
Default Thanks to all who replied

I would like to thank everyone that replied to my post. Like most people in my position it's hard to find "the stopping point". I have talked with several people and gleaned valuable input. Most suggest I put a G3 in and skip the G5 if VFR is what most of my flying is. Most recommend an autopilot while I am at it. This leads to me a project that will cost close to $20,000 or more. It's hard to justify such an expense as I have been able to fly over 25 years with much less sophisticated equipment. I want to do it right and I only want to do it one time but still trying to decide where to "stop". I will report back once I have made the decision. Thanks to all who have been there before me that provided input.
__________________
K. Register
2019 Dues Paid
CFI, CFII, MEL
RV7A - 2nd owner - Loving it
1941 Aeronca Defender - Sold - not missing it
Pitts S1S - Sold - missing it
Pitts S1C - Sold - missing it
Mooney M20C (2) - Sold
Cessna 172 - Sold
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.