What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Factory Tour/ Demo Flight

Qui

Went to the Van's factory Thursday to take the tour and get a ride in the RV 14 for the first time. My overall impression of Van's and the RV
14 itself were very positive. All of the employees I came in contact with were very helpful and obviously enjoyed working for the company. I
had the opportunity to fly with Ken who was a real professional and did a great job of selling the aircraft. When I told him I was almost
finished with each kit. he asked if I had finished all the fiberglass work (tips etc). When I told him "no", he explained that I'm not close
to being done : ). I had planned to save the fiberglass work to last which he rightfully informed me, a bad idea.
A few qualifiers prior to my review: 1- I have never flown in an RV aircraft. 2- I have been flying (smooth)jets for the last 30 yrs
with little GA time in that time span 3- This is my first metal build. I have assembled a couple of ,mostly bolt together, SeaReys . The
limited time I have in GA airplanes in the last couple of years have been in airplanes with very sluggish ailerons and the corresponding
need of continuous rudder inputs.
Once sitting in the aircraft I felt like I had a lot of room. As the canopy came down, I immediately felt as if it was going to crowd my
head but once down, it was no issue whatsoever. With the bubble cracked open, there was plenty of air flow. The engine seemed hard to start as
it took 2 attempts and when it did fire off, it shook the airplane a lot more than expected. The cowling shook quite a bit and made the
aircraft seem not very solid (tin canny), however that changed quickly as the engine settled down. Ken gave an excellent brief and warned that
you fly it with finger tips, not by grasping the stick with your whole hand (yeah, yeah I thought). Aircraft felt smooth on takeoff and got