What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G3x Touch antenna

FOZY flier

I'm New Here
I have been flying a G3x Touch EFIS in my RV7 for 6 months now and absolutely love the system.
When I fitted the avionics I installed a GA56 antenna which was quite old but still boxed and unused. The model number of the antenna is GA56 011-00134-00.
I have had some issues with intermittent GPS signal loss and recently noticed that the part number for the GPS antenna currently being sold for the G3x Touch is GA56 010-10040-01
Could anyone advise as to whether I need to purchase a new antenna with the current model number or whether the one I am using is suitable.

The older antenna should be ok - I used one before I installed ADSB which required a different GPS antenna. I'd look into installation issues: proper minimum cable length, and where the antenna is mounted. Then there are also GPS outages, you'd have to check the NOTAMs or gps.gov.

https://www.gps.gov/support/user/

I have been flying a G3x Touch EFIS in my RV7 for 6 months now and absolutely love the system.
When I fitted the avionics I installed a GA56 antenna which was quite old but still boxed and unused. The model number of the antenna is GA56 011-00134-00.
I have had some issues with intermittent GPS signal loss and recently noticed that the part number for the GPS antenna currently being sold for the G3x Touch is GA56 010-10040-01
Could anyone advise as to whether I need to purchase a new antenna with the current model number or whether the one I am using is suitable.

Hello FOZY flier,

In the Garmin part numbering system, 011-00134-00 is the part number of the GA 56 antenna subassembly - in other words, the antenna itself. 010-10040-01 is the "GA 56 antenna kit", which contains the antenna, mounting hardware, plastic bag, label sticker, etc. If you bought a new GA 56 antenna today, it would be the same as the one you already have.