What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What of the UWO dorm rooms?

RV7ator

Well Known Member
If you've used the Univ. WI Non-AC dorm rooms, what do you think of the set-up? Which building were you in? These are the only accommodations available at the moment, and we won't be using HBC this year.

John Siebold

Works for us

My wife and I have been staying in the UWO dorms for about 30 years. I think we've been in every one of the buildings, but most recently in Scott. It's nothing special, just a dorm room with the bathroom down the hall (sometimes downstairs). But it is convenient, secure, dry, and most importantly my wife gets a hot shower every morning!

Like I said we've been doing this a long time, so we pretty well have it down to a science. My wife even has an Oshkosh checklist, so packing is just a matter of following the checklist.

It may not be for everyone, but it has worked well for us.

Good luck!

I appreciate the replies. UWO is atop the list because of regular inexpensive bus service. We aren't renting, er, buying, a car, and the shuttle bus fare for two is $50/day (last year); sorry Ripon College. And rooms are available. The EAA lodging website isn't working, and hotels as far as Madison, with the thought of commuting by RV, are booked.

That tip about the loo perhaps being on another floor is good. I've also requested a north or east facing room thinking it should be cooler.

Any other morsels to share?

John Siebold

UOW dorms

Been walking in to university of oskosh dorms last 4 years and getting rooms with no reservation and got a.c. rooms 3 times. Always rooms available.