VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 12-29-2017, 06:39 AM
leok leok is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 228
Default Beast of a machine

That is a beast of a machine! I'm always surprised what businesses will surplus once their needs change, or a newer piece of equipment comes in.

I have a 36 X 36 light duty CNC router and find the programming to be the biggest obstacle for the hobbyist size pocket book. Decent 2 1/2 D stuff out there cheap, but 3D (at least that I have found) really pushes the budget. You'll have to post what programs you are using once you have that part down.
__________________
Building my RV-10 since Oct 5th 2014
Flying .. once I figure out how to pay for everything
http://www.mykitlog.com/leok
RV Hotel
Dues paid 2018
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-29-2017, 07:18 AM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,052
Default

Scott, I would think twice before ripping the old controls out, or at least keep the servo drives and the VFD's. VFD's work by converting AC into DC then back to AC, so most can be ran off single phase input. Most axis drives use step/direction inputs and work fine with Mach3, and also can be ran on single phase. I have done a couple of Mach3 conversions and helped friends do them, and in most cases we retained some parts of the controls to make reliable systems running on Mach3. Mach3/4 has its flaws and in some cases isn't as good as an older control. I have a turret lathe which uses an old Fanuc OT control and was able to modify the post-processor I use with Solidworks/HSMWorks and it works just as well as my Mach3 machines. I use CNCDrive UC100's to drive the axis drives and am very happy with them. Hope this helps.
__________________
Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N55BC RV-6 borrowed, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2017, 08:10 AM
Skykingbob's Avatar
Skykingbob Skykingbob is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bealeton Virginia
Posts: 539
Default Just keep 3-phase

I built a machine shop in my back yard. I have a 14x40 Engine Lathe, a Prototrak CNC, and a surface grinder that all run off of 3-phase. To run a third leg onto my property and pay the monthly fee was not worth it. So I bought a 15 hp 3-phase motor and wired up to produce the third phase....cost $400 for the motor and $200 for the 3-phase panel.....works like a charm!
__________________
Bob "Skyking" Corriveau
"PRINCE TRAPPED IN A PILOT'S BODY"
Yes I paid my =VAF= membership dues for 2017
RV-8 QB Reserved N212KB
ATP
CFI/CFII/MEI

Build Site: http://www.mykitlog.com/skykingbob/

"Nothing worthwhile has ever been accomplished without inspiration, determination, and perspiration!"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2017, 08:23 AM
ZachMiller ZachMiller is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
Default

If the control works fine I'd be hesitant to rip it out. I've got a LinuxCNC based milling machine and can tell you from experience that retrofitting with PC based controls is a never ending game. Industrial controls are much more robust, although pricy to fix. What are you planning on using for control?

Also, +1 for building a rotary phase converter if you don't have 3-phase. I've got a 7.5hp converter that cost me around $150 and runs my lathe, drill press, grinder, and air compressor. All the good machine tools are 3-phase and 3-phase tools tend to be cheaper.
__________________
Zach Miller
RV-7 Empennage
Donation made Dec 2017
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-29-2017, 08:44 AM
BillL BillL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,550
Default Ahhhh . . . molds

Quote:
Originally Posted by scsmith View Post
Might have some wingtip molds to have you cut in the future. About a year from now maybe.
Yeah what is what I was thinking.
__________________
Bill

RV-7
1st Flight 1-27-18
Phase II 8-3-18
Repairman 11-15-18
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:05 AM
scard's Avatar
scard scard is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 2,816
Default

Yep, it is three phase and my shop has a phase converter putting out the third leg for all of my machines. Works fine. For the first pass, I'll be retaining existing servos (SEM) and adding newer encoders and ditching the tach. The new controller will probably be Centroid. The inverters and spindles will probably stick around for a while, but I'm not going to mess with the complexities of multiple spindle control just yet.
That should get us to the point of cutting something without having to mess around with the ancient Fagor / SEM controls.
__________________
Scott Card
RV-9A N4822C flying 1900+hrs. / Cedar Park, TX
Track
RV8 Building - fuselage / showplanes canopy (Done!)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:24 AM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,052
Default

The old SEM DC servos use encoders with an incandescent bulb and they're difficult to align when replacing the bulb. I've replaced them with magnetic encoders, used the existing supplies and a modern servo drive.
__________________
Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N55BC RV-6 borrowed, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:58 AM
Jerry Fischer's Avatar
Jerry Fischer Jerry Fischer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winder Ga
Posts: 879
Default CNC..

I knew I should have stayed in Plant Engineering...very cool stuff
__________________
Jerry Fischer KW4F
VAF# 1646
RV7 N364SJ Miss Sandy sold
RV1 N1583 "Mockingbird 1" SOLD
EAA volunteer SNF

HBC volunteer/chairman OSH
Tech counselor
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:33 AM
Richard@Langair Richard@Langair is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scappoose
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scard View Post
... "No heavy loads for the next hour please." She knows that means don't turn on the clothes dryer, oven, and Air Conditioner all at the same time. She measured "her loads" and I measured "mine". We're good otherwise. ...
This is funny to me as we have 400A 3 phase from the power company (No convertors) and up until about a year ago whenever we would spin up a big spindle or run the Magnaflux machine our lights would dim a little. Then the power company was out replacing lines and doing some major upgrades so I asked the guys if there was anything they could do to help. They looked into it and found out the transformer on the power pole out front that was feeding us and the neighbor house was severely undersized. Like scary undersized.

They quickly replaced it and our power problems went away. I later found out that the neighbors had been complaining to the power company that their lights were constantly flickering and burning out lots of bulbs. Turns out our shop was causing their problems as well because of the undersized transformer!!


Very cool find you have there. We recently found a gun drilling machine for a steal of a deal also. Even though it was on the other side of the country it was still worth it!!! Keep on the lookout for some new products coming from our shop...

Last edited by Richard@Langair : 12-29-2017 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-29-2017, 05:30 PM
BillL BillL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scard View Post
Yep, it is three phase and my shop has a phase converter putting out the third leg for all of my machines. Works fine. For the first pass, I'll be retaining existing servos (SEM) and adding newer encoders and ditching the tach. The new controller will probably be Centroid. The inverters and spindles will probably stick around for a while, but I'm not going to mess with the complexities of multiple spindle control just yet.
That should get us to the point of cutting something without having to mess around with the ancient Fagor / SEM controls.
So you have 2 phase electrical power? How does that work?
__________________
Bill

RV-7
1st Flight 1-27-18
Phase II 8-3-18
Repairman 11-15-18
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.