VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:22 PM
lr172 lr172 is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,278
Default G3X: splitting RS-232 Tx/Rx Functions

Does anyone know if the G3X allow you to discretely assign the Tx and Rx sides of an RS-232 port for different functions of are they assigned jointly by port? If the former, can the baud rates be different? For example, can I assign port 1 TX to my SL-40 and port 1 Rx to my 430?

I haven't been able to find this in the manual yet.

Thanks,

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2018, 12:01 AM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,354
Default

Generally speaking, RS232 in and out ports can be assigned different protocols (NMEA, ADSB+, etc) but both need to be at the same baud rate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2018, 07:08 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
Does anyone know if the G3X allow you to discretely assign the Tx and Rx sides of an RS-232 port for different functions of are they assigned jointly by port? If the former, can the baud rates be different? For example, can I assign port 1 TX to my SL-40 and port 1 Rx to my 430?

I haven't been able to find this in the manual yet.

Thanks,

Larry
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
Generally speaking, RS232 in and out ports can be assigned different protocols (NMEA, ADSB+, etc) but both need to be at the same baud rate.

The G3X does not allow you to assign different protocols to the Tx and Rx side of a given RS-232 port. You have to pick one of the options and that sets both directions on the port.

However, there are some COMBO protocols available like:
  • Aviation In/NMEA & VHF Out
  • TIS-A In/NMEA & VHF Out
These add a bit of flexibility.

This area is covered starting on page 34-107 of rev AF of the install manual.

Let us know what you have as far as equipment goes and what you are trying to do and maybe we can help you figure out your options.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2018, 11:20 AM
lr172 lr172 is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantel View Post
The G3X does not allow you to assign different protocols to the Tx and Rx side of a given RS-232 port. You have to pick one of the options and that sets both directions on the port.

However, there are some COMBO protocols available like:
  • Aviation In/NMEA & VHF Out
  • TIS-A In/NMEA & VHF Out
These add a bit of flexibility.

This area is covered starting on page 34-107 of rev AF of the install manual.

Let us know what you have as far as equipment goes and what you are trying to do and maybe we can help you figure out your options.
Thanks Brian. Trying to conserv ports. Have two GDU 370's and need to connect the following

GSU 25 AHRS (2 way)
GMC 305 (2 way)
SL-40 (Tx only)
GNC 430W (Rx only)
GDL-39 (2 way)

With this config, I am bumping up on my 6 ports and would like a spare available.

Does the 430W use Aviation or MapMX. If the former, it seems that the option you mentioned would work for sharing a port between the two radios, but I vaguely remember that this is supposed to be mapmx.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2018, 12:25 PM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
Thanks Brian. Trying to conserv ports. Have two GDU 370's and need to connect the following

GSU 25 AHRS (2 way)
GMC 305 (2 way)
SL-40 (Tx only)
GNC 430W (Rx only)
GDL-39 (2 way)

With this config, I am bumping up on my 6 ports and would like a spare available.

Does the 430W use Aviation or MapMX. If the former, it seems that the option you mentioned would work for sharing a port between the two radios, but I vaguely remember that this is supposed to be mapmx.

Larry

GSU 25 AHRS (2 way) Uses Garmin Instrument Data to the PFD Serial Port 1 of 3 (backup to the CAN Bus)
GMC 305 (2 way) Uses Garmin Instrument Data on the PFD Serial Port 2 of 3 (if you trade up to a 507 now, you can use CAN Bus and free up a serial port)
SL-40 (Tx only) Uses Garmin VHF Com on the MFD Serial port 2 of 3 ( I put this on the MFD because that is likely where you will be trying to push frequencies from)
GNC 430W (Rx only) Uses MAPMX on PFD Serial Port 3 of 3
GDL-39 (2 way) Uses Garmin Data Transfer on the MFD Serial port 1 of 3 (this one must be connected to either port 1 or port 2 or the MFD per the manual)

That leaves MFD serial port 3 of 3 as a spare. Double check my suggestions and I would also run it by G3XPERT just in case there are any constraints I have not considered.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2018, 04:07 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,052
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantel View Post
GSU 25 AHRS (2 way) Uses Garmin Instrument Data to the PFD Serial Port 1 of 3 (backup to the CAN Bus)
GMC 305 (2 way) Uses Garmin Instrument Data on the PFD Serial Port 2 of 3 (if you trade up to a 507 now, you can use CAN Bus and free up a serial port)
SL-40 (Tx only) Uses Garmin VHF Com on the MFD Serial port 2 of 3 ( I put this on the MFD because that is likely where you will be trying to push frequencies from)
GNC 430W (Rx only) Uses MAPMX on PFD Serial Port 3 of 3
GDL-39 (2 way) Uses Garmin Data Transfer on the MFD Serial port 1 of 3 (this one must be connected to either port 1 or port 2 or the MFD per the manual)

That leaves MFD serial port 3 of 3 as a spare. Double check my suggestions and I would also run it by G3XPERT just in case there are any constraints I have not considered.
Yes, this looks good. In a pinch, you can also just connect the GMC 305 to the roll servo and not to a display.

It is nice to have the backup data bus from the GMC 305 to the display, but the most important link is the one from the GMC 305 to the roll servo which allows you to engage the autopilot even when the displays are unavailable.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.