What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-7A vs RV-9A

lepd

I'm New Here
Hi, I am a newbie and thinking of getting either an RV-7a or RV-9a but having trouble making a decision which one to get. I realise the obvious difference is that the 7 is aerobatic and the 9 is not. I also realise they both have the same fuselage and seating position. Therefore, assuming the same engine were put into both (180hp), I have two quesions,

i) If you just want to fly from a to be (no aerobatics), how different do the two aircrafts handle. If you were to sit in either, is there any handling charactoristics that would discern one aircraft from the other?

ii) There is an aircraft being built nearby whereby I was able to sit in the aircraft in the guys garage. One thing I noticed is the seat is close to the floor and in the passenger seat, I noticed there was nowhere to put my feet (I am 6 foot tall) where I wouldnt interfere with the rudder pedals. Can the seat be made higher or can the passenger side rudder pedals 'fold away'?

iii) Is there any significant building differences between the 7 and 9?

Thanks all in advance.

i) The general concensus is that the 9 is a better cross country aircraft if you're hand flying. If you're using an autopilot, George will carry you on your X/C's so there is really no practical difference. The 9 has a longer wingspan and thus a slower roll rate which makes hand flying more relaxed.

ii) Was this aircraft a -7A or -9A? I'm 6 foot tall and a good 'ol boy as they say and I fit in my 7A fuselage with cushions, no problem. Remember that there are many options to make the aircraft more comfortable. You as the builder decide where to put the rudder pedals. There are also booster cushions under the seats that can be added/removed to accomodate people of different sizes.