What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sad Story

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott Hersha

Well Known Member
This story is meant to be a warning to those who didn’t know about what I am about to tell you, and an education to those who aren’t involved in something like this but may be considering it.

I have a recently completed RV8, my third RV build, and I have a co-owner/partnership LLC with two of us, to spread out the costs of ownership. I completed the build on this RV8 last April 24th and flew it on that day, after my FAA inspection. About a month later, my partner, a Delta pilot (I am a retired Delta pilot and knew and flew trips with this partner), decided to acquaint himself with our new airplane and went through the engine start procedure. He had been to Florida and got 5 hours of dual in an RV6 as required by our insurance company. I had gone through this start procedure with him and showed him what to look for on our Garmin G3X Tough EFIS. At this point I had already flown 16.7 hours in Phase 1. Unfortunately during his engine start, with the throttle set too high and he not being familiar, the engine revved and the tail came up making the prop contact the ground - prop strike! This resulted in a new prop, and sending the engine to my engine builder, JB Aircraft Engine Service in Sebring, FL. My partner felt very bad about his mistake, and ended up selling his half of the airplane to another Delta friend. This friend went out to Houston and got two days of training with Bruce Bohannon in his dual control RV8. That was in the fall of last year. Things went along well until recently. My new partner had about 30 hours in our RV8 as of Sun N Fun this year. I had the plane on display at SNF at JB Aircrft Engines exhibit, and I entered it in the judging. I won an award - Outstanding Wormanship Award - I wasn’t the only one to receive this award. My new partner came to FL