What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-4 for first build?

ijustwannafly

Well Known Member
Well here I am wanting to order a kit. A complete rookie. I have ordered my isham tool kit which is on the way.

I am a first time builder and I'm leaning towards a 7.
However i can't shake the fact that i think the 3 and 4 are the sexiest looking of them all. I know they have totally different missions and thats fine. However, for my none specific mission of just having fun flying locally and occasional trip the 4 or 7 would meet the bill

I am terrified to even consider a 4 with the lack of availability of match drilled kits.

So here is my question. I do believe that anyone can build these planes just like vans says. With enough time, study and persistence I'm sure anyone can. However, i feel like the 3 and 4 non match drilled kits really present a whole new level of difficulty.

What do you guys think about a complete rookie embarking on a none match drilled kit like the 4? I personally think its lunacy but that is because i don't know much of anything at this stage in the game. I think a match drilled kit is much better for the rookie (me)!
Because of this I'm leaning towards a 7.

Does vans provide plans for building jigs for the 3 and 4?
Are they any commercially available jigs? I read somewhere about something called a "frey" jig?

I built a 4 and it was not difficult. There is very little jigging required and Vans instructions are very good. I happen to like the configuration of the 4, but the side by side of the 7 will have advantages. If you want to get instruction in your plane a 7 would be much more likely to please an instructor. It is probably a bit easier to sell the 7 later. They both fly in a very similar fashion, so no advantages there.
Having said all that I still prefer the 4, it is just good fun to fly.