What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How do you decide how often to send APRS?

kevinh

Well Known Member
I notice in the software there are options for how often to transmit position reports. Are there any 'best practices' to ensure you don't send too often?

I'm guessing that with the smart turning stuff turned on, the regular interval could be something like once every three mins and just count on the turning to cause a slew of new updates?

I'm new to all this.

I haven't received my microtrak yet, but fun reading about things. I'm initially going to test it with a spare wing tip com antenna I already have installed.

I notice in the software there are options for how often to transmit position reports. Are there any 'best practices' to ensure you don't send too often?

I'm guessing that with the smart turning stuff turned on, the regular interval could be something like once every three mins and just count on the turning to cause a slew of new updates?

I'm new to all this.

I haven't received my microtrak yet, but fun reading about things. I'm initially going to test it with a spare wing tip com antenna I already have installed.

Kevin, I am using the same intervals as Pete and the setup works very nicely. Since our planes cover a lot of ground, I wanted an interval much faster than three minutes (~8 miles). I use 45 seconds which gives an accurate indication of where the plane is at any particular time. It also results in fairly good accuracy if a beacon or two gets squashed by a stronger tracker. I think this is the current config I'm using:

tracker-4.jpg

But.........the MicroTrak is easily reconfigured so you can readily customize the device to your liking. If you wanted to get sorta tricky you could even use the secondary configuration to set up a different interval--maybe primary config for congested areas and secondary for flying in the boonies. :)