What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Please confirm or correct my understanding.

akschu

Well Known Member
Patron
I'm studying ADS-b and trying to understand all of the variables.

I understand that there is 1090ES and 978UAT and that 1090ES is basically buying a new transponder that's updated to output ADS-b, while 978 UAT basically piggybacks on your existing mode-c transponder.

If I understand this right, then if you are using a 978UAT/OUT setup and squawking VFR/1200, then you will always be dealing with shadow if you are seen on radar, because the TIS-b signal you get from the ground doesn't have have any way to identify you, and thus your 978UAT/IN gear see's you as a target, but doesn't have any way to filter you out.

If that's true, does that mean that the only way to fix this is to get a squawk code, then enter it into the filter of your ADS-b/IN gear or use a combined ADS-b IN/OUT solution?

Seems to me the only way to absolutely get rid of shadow is to use 1090ES and put your hex code into the filter of your ADS-b/IN gear.

The major con to that, other than cost, is privacy. From then on, the FAA knows your every movement.... did I get that right?

Thanks,
schu

I still don't understand everything I know about ADS-B, but I "think" your ghosts will go away when you have ADS-B (out). The first time I got one of those TRAFFIC ALERTS! I just about soiled myself. That was when I had ADS-B (in) but not (out). I don't get them any more since I installed a Garmin GDL-82. I'm using Stratus/Foreflight for my ADS-B (in) and it knows who your "ownship" is and inhibits the panic alerts. Being a CSOB, I went with the GDL-82 UAT because it was inexpensive and easy to install. YMMV

"always be dealing with shadow if you are seen on radar"