What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Engine options?

bhassel

Well Known Member
I saw on Facebook this update on the 107hp UL260iS engine in the RV-12.
https://www.facebook.com/ulpower

It says a firewall forward kit and engine for $22.9k. I asked if there was any strengthening to the firewall and fuse but the reply was:

' UL Power North America Hi Bob. At 107hp the firewall does not need to be modified. The weight, power, torque, etc. are very similar to the Rotax.'

I thought the installed ready to fly weight for the Rotax was around 146 lbs. The UL engine is listed on the website at 164.2 lbs. That's a fairly large difference, unless I'm missing something.

It would be nice to get away from the carb problems of the 912ULS, but I'm no engineer.

I've also seen the D-Motor 97 horse at 125 pounds.

I'm just wondering if I'm missing something?

Bob

Bob,

The installation of the ROTAX 912 is pretty straightforward if you follow the Vans instructions. If you pick something else you are buying into a lot of work. I built 3 homebuilts before my RV-12, and two required winging it on the engine. With that experience I would recommend without reservation that you use the recommended ROTAX 912 ULS.

Yes, it can be done, but is it worth the hassle?

Rich

No I get that, and I'm especially leaning to the Van's solution just because of the ELSA. However, that doesn't stop me from wondering about the carb issues that seem to have been occurring and looking at other possibilities.

I just wasn't sure about the weight difference between the UL and Rotax.

Thanks,

Bob