What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Quality Check

jferraro17

Opulence, I has it...
So, here's my concern...

How far do you take the "building an airplane not a spaceship" motto?

I'll admit, I'm new to the game, just about done with my HS, and have not driven every rivet perfectly. I've only had to drill out one, but I've got a few that have a slightly angled shophead...mainly due to the squeezer not being perfectly square when I pull the trigger. The diameter gauge checks okay, the "average" shop-head height also checks okay. I'm talking about 1 in every 20 rivets along the rear spar.

So, I realize this is a learning experience, but eventually, I'm going to strap myself into this thing and leave Terra Firma. I also believe there is a lot of redundancy inherant in the design. I decided before I started to build a flyer, not a show piece, but I'm starting to wonder how far I can take that motto before it's just an excuse to be sloppy/a rationalization of poor work? At the same time, I can't start losing sleep over the first 200 rivets or I'll never finish, or worse, give up and bail on the whole thing. A lot of little mistakes eventually add up though, right?

Am I just being a wimpy newbie? :rolleyes:

Tahnks for the advice

I am a firm believer that a "bad" rivet is easy to spot. IMHO, a slightly angled shop head is nothing to lose sleep over. I cannot imagine that an angle causes any loss of strength, as long as the head width and height are correct. I noticed some not-so-perfect big rivets on the wing spar from Van's. There are a couple sections along the thick stiffener bars that the shop head isn't as thick as my rivet checker tool says it should be. They are all the right width, though. And I'm not going to concern myself even with those oh-so-critcal rivets.