What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking for help Computing Drag Impact

lr172

Well Known Member
I will be adding an ads-b antenna, similar to my transponder antenna. I am wondering if it is worth the cost/hassle of going to blade style antennas.

According to Rami, the rod and ball antennas has .41 lbs of drag at 250mph and the blade has .09 lbs at 250. I would be reducing .8 lbs of drag at 250 mph.

Not being an aeronautical engineer, I have no idea how that number translates to improvement in airspeed on an RV cruising at 160 knots.

Can anyone help me ballpark the speed improvement?

Thanks,

Larry

drag x velocity = power

250 mph = 367 ft/s

The equivalent power for the small drag you describe is 0.8 lb x 367 ft/s = 293 ft-lb/s.

1 Hp = 550 ft-lb/s. So your drag change is equivalent to a power change of 1/2 Hp.

Thats at 250 mph.

160 kts = 184 mph = 270 ft/s.

At that speed, the equivalent power is 0.8 lb x 270 ft/s /550 = 0.4 Hp.

For constant drag coefficient, power varies in proportion to velocity^3, so assuming you are using 180 hp to go 160 kt at sea level, the speed increase is approximately, (0.4/180)/3 x 160 = 0.12 kts.

Last edited:
250 mph = 367 ft/s

The equivalent power for the small drag you describe is 0.8 lb x 367 ft/s = 293 ft-lb/s.

1 Hp = 550 ft-lb/s. So your drag change is equivalent to a power change of 1/2 Hp.

Thats at 250 mph.

At that speed, the equivalent power is 0.4 Hp.

Thanks for the help and detail. Can I assume that the speed obtained with that added .4 hp is a small fraction of .4 in MPH?

Larry

Last edited:
Drag

Looks like a great project for our VAF bros. with the 3D printers to make a blade cover for transponder antenna.I want one. Hope Steve Melton sees this.
Bob

Looks like a great project for our VAF bros. with the 3D printers to make a blade cover for transponder antenna.I want one. Hope Steve Melton sees this.
Bob