What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

MT Propeller Question

Robb

Well Known Member
I am new to the RV gang having just made a deal on a really nice RV 8. I have an Aviat Husky with an MT propeller and I really like it. I was wondering if there are any weight and balance issues when Installing one on a 8 with a 360 ? The MT performs so well if possible that will be the first thing I do as they are just so smooth

Welcome to VAF and to your new RV-8!

I don't have any experience with either the RV-8 or the MT prop. Still, here's what I'd suggest: fly the plane for a while and get thoroughly familiar with it and the weights and centers of gravity loadings you typically fly with. It's possible that it already had a prop that's every bit as good as an MT, or that the different weight of the MT prop might help or hurt the CG.

Dave

Welcome to VAF!

I am new to the RV gang having just made a deal on a really nice RV 8.

Welcome aboard the good ship VAF.

You might consider joining the Sacramento area RV bunch------------ http://sacrvators.com/ good folks, lots of knowledge-----but the website can be a bit underwhelming, so beware of that small issue.

I have a MT on my 10--------no issues with it, but have not flown the plane with any other prop so I really have no basis to compare.

MT Prop

I have an MT prop on my IO-360 powered RV-8. I don't have the exact weights handy as I'm about 900nm from my plane and it records. But the MT prop is quite a bit lighter than the commonly used Hartzell prop. I also have Concord battery mounted on the firewall. I believe my planes Empty weight C.G. is 77.10" I have never had any CG issues.

My MT prop is the MTV-12-B, the non-counterweighted, three bladed model.
I really like the performance of the prop, as well the way it looks...

Sounds like the MT is the way to go as there is no comparison between it and a Hartzell in performance and vibration