VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:21 PM
jbell2355 jbell2355 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 21
Default FS Garmin GTX330 and GRT Horizon WS MFD

Garmin GTX330 is non-ES, but can be updated. Includes tray and yellow tag - asking $900.

Grand Rapids Technologies Horizon WS MFD has a 4.5" by 6.25" screen, dimensions here: http://grtavionics.com/media/WS-Standard-Bezel-1.pdf. I upgraded to the HX. $500

Here is the WS showing engine info. https://ibb.co/e9YXV8
__________________
RV-7A O-360 A1A
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 03:25 PM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 255
Default

I also have the WS system and have thought about upgrading to the HX. How much did you have to increase the hole size. What about wiring changes?
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, Stratux hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A (backup EFIS)
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2018, 03:34 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 14,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tankerpilot75 View Post
I also have the WS system and have thought about upgrading to the HX. How much did you have to increase the hole size. What about wiring changes?
I did the same upgrade, went to 8.4" screens so had to cut a new panel.

But, good news is the wiring was good to go with one exception. The add on module GPS on the WS was hard wired to a different serial input. With the external GPS that is required it hooks to a different serial (cant remember which one) so all that I had to do was install one wire in the d-sub connector, and change one input in the program.

Way better screen in every aspect.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2018, 09:21 PM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 255
Default

Thanks Mike for your insight. However, my existing panel was professionally built by Aerotronics in 2008 and it’s something right now I really don’t want to replace. I guess if I ever upgrade my WS EFIS systems it’ll have to be to the Horizon EX - but I really prefer the HX. It just doesn’t fit my space.

I hope the seller gets his equipment sold. Other than synthetic vision I think these older WS units are still quite solid. The 330 unit can be upgraded to ES by Garmin but the buyer might also want to consider the ADS-B out unit that GRT sells as an alternative to upgrading the 330.

I have the Garmin 335 with WAAS gps for “out” (since my 430s are non-WAAS) and use the Stratux,sold through Open Source Solutions, for ADS-B “in.” That unit feeds my iPad and is also hardwired to my lower WS unit. That way I get traffic on both my iPad and WS unit. What I really like is the WS unit will display a “traffic box” for near traffic. Not bad for 2008 technology!

Like my old 330 unit, the 335 also says “traffic” through my audio panel. So I normally get both MFD and verbal advisories.
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, Stratux hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A (backup EFIS)
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2018, 04:37 PM
jbell2355 jbell2355 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tankerpilot75 View Post
I also have the WS system and have thought about upgrading to the HX. How much did you have to increase the hole size. What about wiring changes?
The cutout needed to be about 1/2" taller and the wiring was plug and play. I had an avionics shop do the work along with some other stuff, but they said it couldn't have been any easier.
__________________
RV-7A O-360 A1A
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2018, 05:55 PM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 255
Default

Thanks for your insight.
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, Stratux hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A (backup EFIS)
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.