Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 04-16-2018, 02:50 PM

Default prop choice

Hey all

canopy done engine hung yesterday, and on to the cowl. This had me thinking Do i need a propeller to properly fab up the cowl?
and if so, I'm not prepared research wise for that decision
I am constant speed, IO-360 Fuel injected with a cold air superior sump with horizontal intake. from a weight perspective its a slider with a G3X dual screen system and GTN650 planned. no steam gauges.
I guess the look and smoothness of three blade is the wish. question is composite or aluminium? and size?
I'm no expert on the W & B math so any advice here on what is best would be great. I expect the composite CS will be very expensive. I also heard the composite may cause an aft C of G reducing baggage capacity
id appreciate any advice on what prop to go with. my mission will include some shorter grass strips, but not under 1600 feet
im building a 7
Building RV7 #70770
Wings done
Empenage done
QB Fuse done
Finish kit underway
Vans Airforce Dues Paid
Flying Piper Supercub PA18 150
Flying Cessna 414A
Old 04-16-2018, 04:38 PM

Adam,
Finished my -7 in Nov., now with 100hrs and counting. I have an IO-360 M1B with an MT 3 blade that I purchased thru Van's. I could not be happier with this combination. The delivery time was about 14 weeks on the prop and I was ready to fit my cowlings long before expected delivery. I rented the Flyboys cowlings installation tool and used the MT dimensions to fit the cowling. When the prop arrived (spinner mounted and painted), I just bolted it on and VIOLA! Perfect fit. Very smooth prop as well as good ground clearance for unimproved strips. My EW came in at 1081# CG 80.4 with dual AFS 5600 displays and autopilot. Pricier than the Hartzel, but if you figure in the spinner assy.and labor, its comparable.
RV7 #72018 N767T first flight 11/21/2017 100+hrs.
2018 dues paid.