VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:53 PM
TXFlyGuy TXFlyGuy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jazz Town, USA, TX
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthocker View Post
Mike,

I have flown them all in my RV8's.
The basic tru track was rock solid.
The Legacy Dynon D180/ AP 74 sucked. (Wandered).
Sky view seemed to do better than the D180, but I only did some initial test flights on a couple of friends RV8s and no real approaches.

Garmin autopilot kicks butt! The autotrim even keeps up during flap deployment!

If you want to be absolutely sure you'll be happy, get the Garmin!

My 2 cents!
That is why we went with a full Garmin stack, including the latest A/P, GTN-650, etc. A GRT Mini EFIS is installed as an emergency backup.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2017, 09:27 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
The Aera 660 most certainly supports vertical navigation (VNAV). I seldom arrive at pattern altitude without having performed a coupled VNAV descent from cruise altitude.
I was referring to a coupled approach, which it will not do. I do very much like the vnav to pattern altitude feature of the Garmins. Having a 430W changes things a great deal. The Garmin will deal with that very well, as will the Skyview or the TruTrak Vizion385, the last of which would likely be your cheapest option by over $1.5k.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-02-2017, 09:45 PM
jthocker's Avatar
jthocker jthocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
I was referring to a coupled approach, which it will not do. I do very much like the vnav to pattern altitude feature of the Garmins. Having a 430W changes things a great deal. The Garmin will deal with that very well, as will the Skyview or the TruTrak Vizion385, the last of which would likely be your cheapest option by over $1.5k.
Pretty sure the G5 along with the Gad 29 a 305/7 and the 430w will fly a coupled approach.
__________________
Jon Thocker
Habitual Offender
RV4, RV4, RV6A, RV8, RV8, RV8,RV8, RV8, RV8, RV12
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2017, 03:51 PM
RVG8tor's Avatar
RVG8tor RVG8tor is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 1,240
Default Another Question

If I replace my Dynon Autopilot with the G5 and Garmin servos and control with the GAD 29 to interface with my 430W how will this interface with the Dynon as far as controlling heading and altitude bugs?

Basically will the autopilot follow bugs set with the Dynon controls and or will the Dynon display setting made by the Garmin autopilot control?

Even though the G5 is the autopilot may main attitude airspeed reference would be the D-180. I would want bugs and course guidance duplicated on the D-180

Also in my reading of the manual it seems like I may not have autopilot heading hold mode only track. Can't the G5 with autopilot hold a heading?

Holding a heading to intercept a course is an important function flying IFR and would hate to not have that.

I am thinking G3 Expert will chime in for this one.

Right now all GPS units (430W and Aera 660) are connected to the Dynon HS-34 and this ensures display of what ever GPS source I am using on the Dynon, course and pitch displays

Thanks
__________________
Mike "Nemo" Elliott
RV-8A (First Flight 12-12-12!)
Ocala, FL soon to move to Texas
N800ME
www.mykitlog.com/rvg8tor


Dues Paid 2018
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2017, 07:10 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,687
Default

I'm confused by your question.

if you remove the Dynon, then your GPS signal must go to your Garmin and the Garmin must drive its native AP servos.

The Dynon AP knob module cannot interface to the Garmin, as far as I know.

Does that answer your question?
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-10-2017, 03:24 AM
RVG8tor's Avatar
RVG8tor RVG8tor is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 1,240
Default Just steering commands

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
I'm confused by your question.

if you remove the Dynon, then your GPS signal must go to your Garmin and the Garmin must drive its native AP servos.

The Dynon AP knob module cannot interface to the Garmin, as far as I know.

Does that answer your question?
I realize that, what I am asking is can Dynon still send the command to the Garmin auto pilot. I am no expert but my guess is there is some industry standard for commanding bugs. It is why a Garmin GPS can display steering command to various EFIS display.

The Garmin autopilot would control what heading is set, that is obviously displayed on the G5 EFIS, what I am hoping happens is those parameter are also repeated so to speak on the Dynon EFIS. I am fairly sure this is why Dynon has all GPS units ties to the HS-34.

I am just trying to confirm that my suspicions are correct. The Dynon actually display steering (whether autopilot is on or not) from my 430W, the autopilot just fly what it commands.

I need to learn how various unit talk to on another in this case.
__________________
Mike "Nemo" Elliott
RV-8A (First Flight 12-12-12!)
Ocala, FL soon to move to Texas
N800ME
www.mykitlog.com/rvg8tor


Dues Paid 2018
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-10-2017, 07:34 AM
jthocker's Avatar
jthocker jthocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,060
Default

Mike,
The G5 will not display heading without an associated G3X and it's magnetometer. In your scenario you would use the G5 to fly its depicted GPS track and adjust "track" to get desired heading on the Dynon. Kinda clunky, but that's the work around if you just want to get the G5 system and not ditch the Dynon.

Maybe ditch the G5 along with the D180, Ap74,HS34. Keep the D10 and get a G3X touch. Your EGT/ CHT harness will plug into the G3X just fine. That's what I did!

Best,

Jon
__________________
Jon Thocker
Habitual Offender
RV4, RV4, RV6A, RV8, RV8, RV8,RV8, RV8, RV8, RV12
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-13-2018, 10:52 PM
tmillican tmillican is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, TX
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthocker View Post
Mike,
The G5 will not display heading without an associated G3X and it's magnetometer. In your scenario you would use the G5 to fly its depicted GPS track and adjust "track" to get desired heading on the Dynon. Kinda clunky, but that's the work around if you just want to get the G5 system and not ditch the Dynon.

Maybe ditch the G5 along with the D180, Ap74,HS34. Keep the D10 and get a G3X touch. Your EGT/ CHT harness will plug into the G3X just fine. That's what I did!

Best,

Jon
I'm coming in a year-and-a-half late to the discussion. I have not been looking for autopilots or new avionics for a while. Now, realizing I will probably need a new standby altimeter--thinking--should I replace it or ditch it for some integrated backup EFIS--free up panel space, etc., I learn from the other current thread that the G5 has an integrated autopilot functionality. Wow.
So going back to learn more before asking silly questions, I see this thread which died after Jon's statement above. I know that the G5 has morphed with increased functionality over its short lifespan, so I'm thinking the stated need for a G3X to get the G5 to give heading info is no longer the case--is that correct?
From what I see, to get Garmin autopilot functionality, I would need a G5, GAD29 nav data adapter, GMC 305 or 307 autopilot control panel, and GSA-28 servos (x2 or x3). I saw that a GMU11 magnetometer is required for the G5 to be primary for magnetic heading.

So now, I'll start asking silly questions.

Without the GMU-11, would the G5 still be a valid standby instrument?

What then of the OP's question that I think went unanswered about Dynon D180 heading bug controlling the G5 autopilot (or vice versa)? Could the D180 remain primary with a G5 backup and would the G5 heading bug/autopilot be controlled by that selected on the D180?

Troy
__________________
Troy Millican
CFI
Columbus, TX (66R)
RV-8A, purchased flying
Cessna 150F; Beech Baron B55
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-14-2018, 08:06 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,091
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmillican View Post
I'm coming in a year-and-a-half late to the discussion. I have not been looking for autopilots or new avionics for a while. Now, realizing I will probably need a new standby altimeter--thinking--should I replace it or ditch it for some integrated backup EFIS--free up panel space, etc., I learn from the other current thread that the G5 has an integrated autopilot functionality. Wow.
So going back to learn more before asking silly questions, I see this thread which died after Jon's statement above. I know that the G5 has morphed with increased functionality over its short lifespan, so I'm thinking the stated need for a G3X to get the G5 to give heading info is no longer the case--is that correct?
From what I see, to get Garmin autopilot functionality, I would need a G5, GAD29 nav data adapter, GMC 305 or 307 autopilot control panel, and GSA-28 servos (x2 or x3). I saw that a GMU11 magnetometer is required for the G5 to be primary for magnetic heading.

So now, I'll start asking silly questions.

Without the GMU-11, would the G5 still be a valid standby instrument?

What then of the OP's question that I think went unanswered about Dynon D180 heading bug controlling the G5 autopilot (or vice versa)? Could the D180 remain primary with a G5 backup and would the G5 heading bug/autopilot be controlled by that selected on the D180?

Troy
Hello Troy,

To do a better job answering your questions, it would be good to know if you are equipped for VFR or IFR and what is your navigator (portable, GNS/GTN, etc)?

The G5 system heading bug cannot be controlled from a D180. The A429 output from a GAD 29 installed with a G5 does output selected heading, but not sure if the D180 will use it.

FAR 91.205 requires a "Gyroscopic direction indicator (directional gyro or equivalent)" for IFR operations. The GPS TRK based G5 HSI is gyro stabilized just like the HDG based G5 HSI, but most interpret this FAR requirement to require HDG (direction nose of aircraft is pointing), not TRK (aircraft path over ground) to be displayed. Additionally, when ATC is giving you vectors, they expect you to follow heading, not track even though they have a track in mind for your aircraft.



Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-14-2018, 10:22 AM
tmillican tmillican is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, TX
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
To do a better job answering your questions, it would be good to know if you are equipped for VFR or IFR and what is your navigator (portable, GNS/GTN, etc)?

The G5 system heading bug cannot be controlled from a D180. The A429 output from a GAD 29 installed with a G5 does output selected heading, but not sure if the D180 will use it.

FAR 91.205 requires a "Gyroscopic direction indicator (directional gyro or equivalent)" for IFR operations. The GPS TRK based G5 HSI is gyro stabilized just like the HDG based G5 HSI, but most interpret this FAR requirement to require HDG (direction nose of aircraft is pointing), not TRK (aircraft path over ground) to be displayed. Additionally, when ATC is giving you vectors, they expect you to follow heading, not track even though they have a track in mind for your aircraft.
Steve,
Thanks for the prompt reply.
To summarize (make sure I understand) and reply reverse order to your paragraphs above:
1. Ok. I understand the GPS vs. HDG track. Magnetometer required to provide correct heading.
2. Dynon D180 heading bug will not control the G5/autopilot. Unknown if the G5 will reset the D180 heading bug. If keeping both of these units it may be necessary to set both heading bugs (and presumably altitude bug).
3. My RV-8 setup:
Left side: GMAxxx audio panel, GNS430W, SL-40, GTX-327
Center: Dynon D180 EFIS/EMS, Trutrak ADI-pilotII autopilot/standby AI, Dynon HS-34 HSI expansion module
Right side: Garmin 496, standby airspeed indicator, standby altimeter (leaky--needs replacement).

My "needs": replace standby altimeter, ADS-B out/in solution.
I know my options are infinite. Frugal: I can replace the standby altimeter now for <$500. I can wait until 2020 and see what the cheapest ADSB options are at the time.
I had considered "upgrade" the Trutrak AP to their Gemini AP. ~$2700. This will be all standby instruments so I can have the right side of the panel to upgrade to 796 (for example). This doesn't improve the autopilot and the Gemini EFIS is miniscule.

Just yesterday, learned from your reply to the other G5 autopilot thread about the G5 capabilities. Wow. I could put a G5 where my Trutrak sits, add all the other stuff I outlined and do the same thing but better autopilot, way better EFIS (plus HSI). This solution will be ~$4000-4500 for parts. But where to put the 307 or 507? Hmm. Wouldn't want it on the right side--need to use the left hand for it. Left side stack is full.

4am this morning, lying awake, I realized this (way better) option:
Left side: --replace the GTX327. Use that spot for the GMC-305 autopilot control panel. Install a GTX-45R remote transponder.
Center: --install G3X with GDU-470 portrait display. Remove Trutrak autopilot and Dynon HS34 HSI control.
Right: --move the Dynon D180 over here (if it fits). It is a perfectly functioning EFIS and EMS. I could keep it on the EMS page and it can be the standby EFIS. I wouldn't need the HS34 anymore (I think). Ditch the legacy standby instruments and get an Aera 660 below (or above) the D180 (depending on fit and function.)

So many great choices. All I need is money.

P.S. Do you know there are two versions of the G3X brochure online? https://www8.garmin.com/aviation/bro...x_brochure.pdf
This one shows GMC 305 and 307
https://www8.garmin.com/aviation/bro..._solutions.pdf
This one shows GMC 507
(and what is the difference in a 307 and 507?)
__________________
Troy Millican
CFI
Columbus, TX (66R)
RV-8A, purchased flying
Cessna 150F; Beech Baron B55

Last edited by tmillican : 06-14-2018 at 10:26 AM. Reason: added post script
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.