What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Silicone recommendation

AboveMSL

Well Known Member
I'm at the stage of preparing the elevator pitch trim harness. The instructions have you apply silicone to one end of the harness. I have no experience with this type of work and I'm wondering what type of silicone to use......which makes me wonder if there is more than one type of silicone. What have you other 14 builders been using here. Thanks,

Screen%20Shot%202015-03-24%20at%2018.01.47.jpg

Momentive RTV 162 or RTV 6708 are good choices.
You want an electronics grade, not acidic cure bathroom type sealant.
At least that would be my advice. If in doubt, call Van's.

Last edited:
alternative to Molex

Deutsch connectors are resistant to water at 3ft depth. I haven't tested it. I used the gold plated pins. These are same connectors under the hood of your car. If you use the connector base as in the picture, I recommend grinding off the plastic latch lock so that is it a friction dovetail lock and not a one time forever lock. The grinding takes 2 seconds to complete.

100_4774.jpg

100_4773.jpg

100_4772.jpg

Last edited:
Alright, so I used GE Premium clear silicone from Home Depot. The plans don't specify anything specific. So I don't see where it would make a difference.

I made a living around electronics and know the difference between the different silicone that is available.

I, like you, used the CHEAP $3 stuff sold at Home Depot, Lowes, and Pep Boys to use on a Circuit Board to stabilize some capacitors. I did not want to buy the $30 stuff. That was over 18-years ago and the unit is still flying.

The link in this thread is the correct stuff to use but some of us CHEAP guys have used the other stuff that is available locally.

Alright, so I used GE Premium clear silicone from Home Depot. The plans don't specify anything specific. So I don't see where it would make a difference.