What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Kitlog question

bob888

Well Known Member
I have been using Kitlog Pro for the past 5 years and now need to transfer it from a Windows 7 to a Windows 10 computer. I can't seem to get it to work on the Windows 10 system and wonder if it is even compatible with the newer operating system. The support contact for the program seems to be defunct. If anyone has solved this issue, please let me know how you did it; maybe via PM.

Kitlog Pro does work under Windows 10. Just sent you a PM with some suggestions on how to make it work.

I've been using it under Windows 7 for a while. It seems to work fine. I don't remember doing any special configuration to get it to work though.

I have had it working under an upgrade from Windows 8.1 and also an early install of Windows 10, both of which have been continually updated. But I just got my new Surface Pro with a fresh install of the latest Windows 10 and Kitlog will not start at all. I'm sure I'll get it figured out eventually, but it's a bit frustrating.

Had the same problem with windows 10. The following fiexed me up:

Here are the instructions that Matt provided that fixed my issues:

Try this:

1) Use Windows 10 Apps & Features to Uninstall the .NET1.1 installation.

2) Reboot your computer.

3) Download this .NET deep cleaning utility. Be sure to select the ".NET Framework 1.1" option pull down under "Product to cleanup".

http://www.kitlog.com/dls/DotNETCleanupTool.exe

4) Reboot your computer.

5) Start Kitlog.

6) If/when prompted to download and install .NET 3.5 (2.0): Accept and let it do the install.

7) Successfully start Kitlog now.

Amazing. The crash I was getting was in ntdll.dll, nothing to do with .NET, but this fixed it. And why is Microsoft still bundling a down-level .NET with Windows? (rhetorical question) Matt should have those instructions on the downloads page.