What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Installing a Ray-Allen G205 grip for trim control in G3X RV-12

Rrhsch

I am not an electrical engineer. I have my avionics bay open due to a bad AV50001A and the repaired unit is on its way home. I am considering installing a Ray Allen G205 grip that I own to control the trim. I have a Garmin G3X w/GPS20A and Garmin GMC307 w/autopilot.

Vans told me that I will need a relay for this stick control. My question is where do I make the connection in the system. My thought is to install the REL-2 relay in the switch harness by intercepting pins 18 and 19 and connecting them and my grip wires to the relay with the relay output continuing through to the AV50001A. Is this the correct place to connect a Ray-Allen REL-2 relay. I don't want to damage the AV50001A box.

I am not an electrical engineer. I have my avionics bay open due to a bad AV50001A and the repaired unit is on its way home. I am considering installing a Ray Allen G205 grip that I own to control the trim. I have a Garmin G3X w/GPS20A and Garmin GMC307 w/autopilot.

Vans told me that I will need a relay for this stick control. My question is where do I make the connection in the system. My thought is to install the REL-2 relay in the switch harness by intercepting pins 18 and 19 and connecting them and my grip wires to the relay with the relay output continuing through to the AV50001A. Is this the correct place to connect a Ray-Allen REL-2 relay. I don't want to damage the AV50001A box.

Are you using 1 grip switch or installing 2? I simply used a double pole double throw switch and wired both stick switches.....works fine. I have the Garmin set-up too!

I am only installing the one G201 grip.