What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Need prop governor location advice

goatflieg

Well Known Member
I'm getting ready to order my engine from Barrett; Superior IO360 with horizontal induction, using a Plane Power belt-driven alternator. My prop will be a Whirl Wind 200RV, and they will be supplying the Jihostroj P920-028/A prop governor. Barrett wants to know whether the governor will be mounted in the front or the rear. Being a first-time non-A/P builder, I haven't a clue. The Barrett rep said most 360s mount the governor on the rear, but it does vary. Doing more research here: what influences the placement of the prop governor? Based on my planned configuration as described above, what would be suggested?

Prop Governor

There is plenty of room on the rear. With the starter, alt, etc... up front, adding the PG, linkage makes for more fiberglass work while fitting the cowl and baffling. Not a lot of room up there.
I have the MT governor mounted on the rear of the engine (Barret IO-360, RV8) and there is plenty of room for the linkage etc... and service is no problem. Once you get the governor adjusted, hopefully you want be tinkering with it much.
This is just my thoughts. Whirl Wind might recommend they prefer it up front. Better check with them.

You can never have too much room between the accessory case and the firewall.
I placed a prop governor, a heat muff, a half Raven, and fresh air supply between the firewall and case in an RV 3. So yes there is room in any RV to arrange anything you need in there.
But then on that day when you're trying to track down a minor oil leak you soon find out the advantages of having every cubic inch of space.