VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 09-11-2018, 02:38 PM
TimO TimO is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Default

Got one of the transponders installed yesterday and man is that a nice box. I was actually feeling a twinge of buyers remorse after spending a ton of bucks since I had 2 planes to do, but all it took was a quick flight to realize I made the right choice. After flying with it, I can say that I feel a bit sorry for people who buy something more vanilla like a GTX345. This thing offers so absolutely much more it's really pretty incredible.

Regarding the ATAS option, I got my unlock keys today. As it turns out, for all of them sold this year, the ATAS option is included.

Install wise, it was a challenge, but only because it's much harder to retrofit something than it is to simply buy and build it in the first time. Had I wired this in originally it would have been much simpler than what I had previously. But, finding and tracing and pulling back wires to install did take some time...time that would have been saved when I originally built the plane had I already bought this.

Now to get the 2nd one installed.
__________________
Tim Olson - CFI
RV-10 N104CD - Flying 2/2006 - 1375+ hours http://www.MyRV10.com
RV-14 N14YT - Flying 6/2016 - 300+ hours http://www.MyRV14.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2018, 06:25 PM
vic syracuse vic syracuse is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 2,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fl-mike View Post
Do you get the light and audio on Self Test?

If the installation is good, and there’s a traffic alert that causes the displayed target to be yellow, then the Traffic Alert discrete output should pull to ground, and the audio output should speak the “Traffic, xx O’Clock” message.

Keep in mind that Foreflight uses larger alert limits than ATAS, so a yellow alert on Foreflight may show as a cyan target on the Lynx. The ATAS algorithm only generates an alert when the predicted paths are very likely to cross (in accordance with the MOPS), so another aircraft can be very close (down to 500 ft horizontally and 200 ft vertically in the airport area), but not trigger an alert.
With quite a few hours on this now, I see that the collision algorythm is a lot tighter on the Lynx than it is on Foreflight. I do get the traffic warning light and audio warning when a collision is imminent. The light does not illuminate on power up self test, which is interesting.

It is an amazing box!

Vic
__________________
Vic Syracuse

Built RV-4, RV-6, 2-RV-10's, RV-7A, RV-8, Prescott Pusher, Kitfox Model II, Kitfox Speedster, Kitfox 7 Super Sport, Just Superstol, DAR, A&P/IA, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor, CFII-ASMEL/ASES
Kitplanes "Checkpoints" monthly column
EAA Homebuilt Council Chair/member EAA BOD
www.Baselegaviation.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2018, 06:27 PM
grubbat's Avatar
grubbat grubbat is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 603
Default Will add L3 to panel with Avidyne 540

I’m overhauling a Comanche 260 and will be putting the L3 in the panel with a Avidyne 540 later this month. I’ve heard that the L3 is mil spec and the separate screen is a bonus. We will see.

For the -9, I’ll install the cheapest ADSB-out sometime around January 2020 or thereafter.
__________________
Craig

RV-3 Sold
RV-4 Sold
RV-6a Sold
RV-9 IO-360 CS, Built and Flying
Comanche 260 - poor mans RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2018, 10:22 PM
TimO TimO is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Default

For people interested in the NGT-9000, I had been meaning to watch this youtube video and tonight I did. I actually learned a few things from watching it, and also confirmed a few observations that I thought after flying with it.
It's worth watching if you were interested in the transponder.

Look on YouTube for:
L3 and Aspen Present: Making a Sound ADS-B Investment

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVzo6qwQsMc

I am not sure, but I think that earlier this summer if you watched this webinar it entitled you to a free terrain upgrade for the unit also. I'm not sure that it'll work after the fact though.
__________________
Tim Olson - CFI
RV-10 N104CD - Flying 2/2006 - 1375+ hours http://www.MyRV10.com
RV-14 N14YT - Flying 6/2016 - 300+ hours http://www.MyRV14.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2018, 04:49 PM
Rock Rock is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Default L3 and Aspen

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimO View Post
For people interested in the NGT-9000, I had been meaning to watch this youtube video and tonight I did. I actually learned a few things from watching it, and also confirmed a few observations that I thought after flying with it.
It's worth watching if you were interested in the transponder.

Look on YouTube for:
L3 and Aspen Present: Making a Sound ADS-B Investment

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVzo6qwQsMc

I am not sure, but I think that earlier this summer if you watched this webinar it entitled you to a free terrain upgrade for the unit also. I'm not sure that it'll work after the fact though.
Very nice presentation. Thanks, for the link, Tim! I had decided on the 345 but will take a closer look!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-01-2018, 04:56 PM
Bad1996 Bad1996 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dalton, Ga
Posts: 42
Default

I have had one in my Mooney Bravo for 4 or 5 years? now. I love it ! When traffic is displayed on other devices (Forefligt, G-660 etc.) it is just too cluttered.
With my 9000 I can tell what is going on at a glance.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-02-2018, 09:39 AM
TimO TimO is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Default

I just got back from my first longer x/c flight now that I've got 2 of the NGT-9000's in my 2 planes, and it was a really great experience with it. I did have traffic callouts a couple of times, and hearing the "Traffic, 11 o'clock, less than 1 mile, low" was cool. The weather on it was real nice, and works great for reading the AIRMET/SIGMET info. All around it's a great and reliable box. As Bad1996 mentions, the traffic display is great, especially when the other boxes get cluttered. There is built in traffic filtering that is configurable, so are left with a black background display with range rings so the traffic when displayed is VERY easy to see. I get the traffic display on my EFIS, too, but especially when flying around airspace (we were in KDEN area), there was so much same-colored stuff on the display between airspace and airport IDs that seeing individual traffic targets was sometimes tougher. So I see a great benefit to it's little dedicated traffic display.

The way I used it most was to just get my IFR squawk, and then once that was entered, I used the touch screen to slide the squawk entry page to the left and have the 2 displays show mini-traffic, and mini-weather. I used the winds aloft page too, and it matched up great with the winds I was seeing.

A couple weeks ago I did a really crappy quick video in flight of the new system. It would be nice to do a better one some day, but I was excited to share it right away. I didn't get the opportunity to get close enough to traffic that day because it wasn't a great weather day and nobody was flying in my general area. I did test some head-on and intercepting traffic situations with a friend and their airplane and it worked great at telling you when there was a real collision threat.

https://youtu.be/NSokf2Iiol0

It was a great upgrade from the GTX327 and GTX330 that I had before. I really think they have the best transponder on the market today.
__________________
Tim Olson - CFI
RV-10 N104CD - Flying 2/2006 - 1375+ hours http://www.MyRV10.com
RV-14 N14YT - Flying 6/2016 - 300+ hours http://www.MyRV14.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-31-2019, 08:07 AM
Steve Melton's Avatar
Steve Melton Steve Melton is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,940
Default

Ordered a Lynx transponder. Any tips for the install?
__________________
Steve Melton
Cincinnati, OH
RV-9A, Tip-up, Superior O-320, roller lifters, 160HP, WW 200RV, dual impulse slick mags, oil pressure = 65 psi, EGT = 1300F, flight hours = 700+ for all

Simplicity is the art in design.

see Amanda Melton for www.rvplasticparts.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-31-2019, 08:22 AM
David Paule David Paule is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,759
Default

No tips for the install, I had mine done by a shop.

But I agree completely with the favorable comments. It's a very nice unit, and has a great display.

The only traffic call that I'd rate a failure was the time I was just lifting off on a takeoff, and it reported landing traffic as a warning. I was accelerating and climbing, the other plane was descending.

Otherwise, the traffic display is super.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:48 AM
TimO TimO is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Default

Steve,

Good choice on the transponder. You can't go wrong with that one. Even if Canada goes forward requiring diversity (or any other countries do) and you want to comply, you're just a software upgrade and antenna install away from compliance.

I've got a write-up here that may be more than you want to read, but it's got some tips in it.

https://www.myrv10.com/N104CD/upgrad...000/index.html

Off the top of my head, I can tell you that if you have an AHRS option with ARINC 429 output that you can feed into it, that's a nice addition. Here's why: For traffic to display in the proper orientation to you, while not moving, your transponder needs to know your heading. So, traffic does not display and you may get a "traffic unavailable" type message as you start and stop moving during taxi. I believe at around 7mph it will use your track and turn on. But, if you don't want this alert and you want traffic to display any time the system is ready, if you feed it the AHRS so it has heading, that will fix it.

Other than that, it's a straight forward install for the most part. Power, Ground, Altitude encoder input. There's a little module that you connect with 4 wires, that stores your config and licenses I believe, called the DCM module that you install. The RS422 output can be connected to RS232 systems in most cases, for a standard feed to your EFIS. Look at the manuals Aspen section in the appendix for how to wire that. The wifi module attaches with power/ground/TX/RX/Signal Ground. Interestingly, you can do some configuration via wifi once it's configured the first time. Plan to have a windows 10 laptop on hand though to run the config utility when you set up the transponder. For the most part, that is very intuitive as well. Them manual documents things well. Click through every screen and read the manual and you'll get it right most likely.
ABSOLUTELY install the audio output into your audio panel. It's awesome. I'd put it to an unswitched input if you can. It doesn't do much for annoying random callouts. Their traffic algorithm is fantastic.

You'll love the box. The weather and traffic display is more useful than you'd think, even though it's on a small transponder screen.

Oh, and when installing the config utility, make sure to follow the driver installation exactly as it's in the manual. It's easier to get things right the first time than to do it wrong and re-do it.

From a hardware perspective, there's just one thing I can offer for advice. When you assemble the wiring connectors on the back, and have them ready to attach to the back of the mounting tray, there are 6 screws that hold 2 angle brackets with slots to zip tie wires to. Those 6 screws seem to be weaker than some I've used. When you put them in the first time, it should go well, but if you have to remove them, they are easy to break. I'm not sure if it's because they have thread locker pre-installed, or what, but I broke one on each of my two installs. So when you go to put those on, be careful. Note from the install diagram that there are 2 jumper wires for chassis grounds that you install. Don't put the screws in those spots until you're ready to put the jumper wire on. That's the only hardware thing I ran into.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Tim Olson - CFI
RV-10 N104CD - Flying 2/2006 - 1375+ hours http://www.MyRV10.com
RV-14 N14YT - Flying 6/2016 - 300+ hours http://www.MyRV14.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.