What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Countersink Enlarges Clearance Hole - Is that ok?

Saville

Well Known Member
Hi all,

I'm new to metalworking so today I'm practicing on scrap metal and running into a problem:

I'm trying to drill and countersink for an 8-32 flat head structural screw (1/2" long) in 0.063" thick material.

I'm using a nylon-faced micro-stop.

I start by drilling a clearance hole with a #19 drill. This makes a great hole - no slop.

Then I used a #20 Avery countersink in the micro stop and attempted to dial in the countersink depth.

I started shallow by (it turned out) about 5/1000's and so I increased the depth by 1000th increments to the point where I do not catch a thumbnail on the screw head BUT.....

....the clearance hole is now wider and there's a little slop in the hole.

Is this expected?

Or, should I start with a smaller drill and a smaller countersink cutter and then the increased hole diameter will work out to be perfect for the 8-32?

Please advise.

Last edited:
You are transforming your countersink into a router.

What you want is a pilot hole in a piece of metal to backup whatever you are countersinking. Then, the rule is "get in and get out". Creeping up on a countersink tends to have the problem you describe.

Get the depth set on a piece of scrap, then do the product.

Carl

You are transforming your countersink into a router.

What you want is a pilot hole in a piece of metal to backup whatever you are countersinking. Then, the rule is "get in and get out". Creeping up on a countersink tends to have the problem you describe.

Get the depth set on a piece of scrap, then do the product.

Carl

Hi Carl,

Thanks for the fast response!

To be sure I understand you, I should:

Drill a #19 hole in a scrap piece.

Drill a #19 hole in the piece to have the countersink where I want the screw to go