VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 10-06-2019, 10:06 AM

Default Question about Airspace and ADSB

I've been flying for about 7 or 8 years and recently bought a VFR RV-6. I've done some long cross country trips in other airplanes and still plan to do so in the RV. As I've considered upgrading my panel (and been subject to the associated sticker shock), I'm thinking seriously about just installing a nice portable GPS and leaving it at that.

My question is, do I really need ADSB out? In 8 years, I've never landed Class B, and only once Class C. When I fly Mass to Myrtle Beach, it will take a little doing to avoid the airspace where ADSB is required, but it's not an outrageous detour in my opinion. And I can use North MB or Conway instead of MB. Navigating around the NY, Philly, DC area is the biggest challenge, but not impossible.

One thing that worries me is something I read on another thread which implied that I won't be able to get flight following without ADSB....is that true?

Purchased July 2019: RV-6 0320 Whirlwind Ground Adjustable Prop
Old 10-06-2019, 10:54 AM

There really are low cost ADSB options out there now. Personally I consider ADSB in a huge safety benefit.
Old 10-06-2019, 11:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotjim77 View Post
My question is, do I really need ADSB out? In 8 years, I've never landed Class B, and only once Class C. When I fly Mass to Myrtle Beach, it will take a little doing to avoid the airspace where ADSB is required, but it's not an outrageous detour in my opinion. And I can use North MB or Conway instead of MB. Navigating around the NY, Philly, DC area is the biggest challenge, but not impossible.

One thing that worries me is something I read on another thread which implied that I won't be able to get flight following without ADSB....is that true?