VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-18-2019, 04:35 PM
alcladrv alcladrv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southeast
Posts: 547
Default

Has anyone been able to update their GDL-82 software? The install tool doesn't offer an update option. just repair, uninstall or close. All I get is an error message when I select repair.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-18-2019, 05:54 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,810
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcladrv View Post
Has anyone been able to update their GDL-82 software? The install tool doesn't offer an update option. just repair, uninstall or close. All I get is an error message when I select repair.
Hello alcladrv,

We may not understand what steps you are taking, but it is not necessary to update the install tool.

The instructions in the service bulletin explain how to use the existing PC install tool to upload the new software (download file named 006-B2372-01_0A.gca) to the GDL 82.

We responded to your email.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-30-2019, 08:54 AM
kcblade kcblade is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Steve, you mentioned earlier "Currently, the only way to operate in anonymous mode is with a UAT Out solution like the GDL 82 with a GTX 325 or GTX 327 Mode C transponder"

Do I understand you correctly that with a different transponder attached (ie Narco AT-150) that the anonymous function will not be continuously functional? Thanks for the input, Steve
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-30-2019, 10:40 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,810
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcblade View Post
Steve, you mentioned earlier "Currently, the only way to operate in anonymous mode is with a UAT Out solution like the GDL 82 with a GTX 325 or GTX 327 Mode C transponder"

Do I understand you correctly that with a different transponder attached (ie Narco AT-150) that the anonymous function will not be continuously functional? Thanks for the input, Steve
Hello,

Your installation with a GDL 82 and Narco transponder is still capable of Anonymous mode operation.

It doesn't require a Garmin transponder for the GDL 82 to provide this capability.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-05-2019, 09:51 AM
larryj larryj is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 163
Default

Hi Steve,
Then a follow-on question is can a GDL82 (anonymous mode) be made to work with a GTX345 such that one could have both ADSB-out in anonymous and ADSB-in ???
If not, how could one get this capability ?? And without portable units - I'm only interested in panel-mount permanent solutions.
__________________
Larry E. James
Bellevue, WA
Super Decathlon
Rocket (under construction)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-05-2019, 10:56 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,810
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by larryj View Post
Hi Steve,
Then a follow-on question is can a GDL82 (anonymous mode) be made to work with a GTX345 such that one could have both ADSB-out in anonymous and ADSB-in ???
If not, how could one get this capability ?? And without portable units - I'm only interested in panel-mount permanent solutions.
Hello Larry,

Sorry, but a GDL 82 cannot be installed with a Mode S transponder like the GTX 345.

A GTX 345 doesn't have a traffic display, so the display you wish to use would still come into play when choosing the ADS-B In receiver.

The GDL 50R/52R remote mount ADS-B receivers are not panel mount, but still a great solution.





Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-05-2019, 05:20 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 6,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larryj View Post
Hi Steve,
Then a follow-on question is can a GDL82 (anonymous mode) be made to work with a GTX345 such that one could have both ADSB-out in anonymous and ADSB-in ???
If not, how could one get this capability ?? And without portable units - I'm only interested in panel-mount permanent solutions.
Read this thread, just posted:

"FAA Acts To Preserve ADS-B Data Privacy (1090 ES)"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-28-2019, 05:54 PM
wookiemail wookiemail is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Loveland CO
Posts: 42
Default

Well, shucks, mine won't update. I get the files downloaded, they look just fine.

On the page that shows what's going to update, I get 3 rows in the right column that says what's in the GDL-82. As it shows in the SB. All checked.

On the left column showing LIST, I get the top and bottom row checked as they should be. But the middle row, "FPGA" shows "NONE" and no check.

Upload is grayed out.

Have tried to download the update file with same result.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-13-2020, 10:19 PM
GuppyWN GuppyWN is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boise
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wookiemail View Post
Well, shucks, mine won't update. I get the files downloaded, they look just fine.

On the page that shows what's going to update, I get 3 rows in the right column that says what's in the GDL-82. As it shows in the SB. All checked.

On the left column showing LIST, I get the top and bottom row checked as they should be. But the middle row, "FPGA" shows "NONE" and no check.

Upload is grayed out.

Have tried to download the update file with same result.

Any ideas?
Did you get this figured out? Just updated mine today. Had to open the downloaded file and drag it to the desktop. Then it hit browse and selected desktop. Worked great. I was pulling my hair out because I don't use PC's. Buddy pointed me in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.