VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-19-2017, 09:25 AM
skidookid skidookid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ellenburg center ny
Posts: 59
Default need apple I pad to run garmin piolt

Tried galaxie android to run garmin pilot but missing info and slow. What I pad should I by to use in my rv 8 with limited space. thanks rt

Last edited by skidookid : 03-19-2017 at 09:27 AM. Reason: speeling wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2017, 09:49 AM
pyolet's Avatar
pyolet pyolet is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 39
Default

Any iPad Mini with cellular data will work, but can also go with a cheaper no-data model, and wifi tether to any hot spot enabled cell phone. The more memory the better...I have 16 gig memory in my iPad mini, and had to delete all unnecessary apps. Wish I'd gone with 64 gig.
__________________
RV-7, IO-540 , Hartzell 80" blended CS. Flying since 2011. Classic Aero 3 tone leather int. Dynon Skyview, 261, 429, 470, dual ADHRS, Garmin GNS480W, SL40, GMA240, Anti-Splat-Aero air/oil sep, EZ-cowl flaps, Koger wide sunshade.

=VAF= donor 2017
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2017, 10:26 AM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 540
Default Garmin pilot

I run Garmin pilot on an IPAD mini with cell service for the gps function.
Also have an IPhone 7 running as a backup. Both blue tooth to a gdl39 for weather and traffic. Love it! Agree, get the higher storage models of both.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N79LG
RV 9a
on the fuse.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:38 AM
skidookid skidookid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ellenburg center ny
Posts: 59
Question i pad question

Does I pad have built in gps or do need to buy a separate device to for gps feed?. Do I need phone part of I pad to work? .I only use I pad in plane. rt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2017, 01:25 PM
RV6_flyer's Avatar
RV6_flyer RV6_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 2,519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skidookid View Post
Does I pad have built in gps or do need to buy a separate device to for gps feed?. Do I need phone part of I pad to work? .I only use I pad in plane. rt
ONLY iPad that has Cellular chip has a built in GPS. You do NOT need to have cell service activated for the GPS to work. List price is an extra $130 for the Cellular + WiFi iPad. There are very few GPS devices available that are less than $130 plus then you have an extra device to break, need charging, or to forget.

IMHO, you will want the latest iPad as I find my older units too slow for me. I expect that a new iPad mini Pro may be announced at the next Apple Event sometime in the next several weeks. A new or update will lower the price of existing iPads.
__________________
Gary A. Sobek
KVVS RV-6
Flying
3,200+ hours
Building RV-8 S/N: 80012

To most people, the sky is the limit.
To those who love aviation, the sky is home.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2017, 02:01 PM
moll780 moll780 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 333
Default

I have this exact setup. iPad3 64gb 4g not activated.
Also use Samsung Galaxy s7 edge. both work fine and are fast. No problems with SG7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV6_flyer View Post
ONLY iPad that has Cellular chip has a built in GPS. You do NOT need to have cell service activated for the GPS to work. List price is an extra $130 for the Cellular + WiFi iPad. There are very few GPS devices available that are less than $130 plus then you have an extra device to break, need charging, or to forget.

IMHO, you will want the latest iPad as I find my older units too slow for me. I expect that a new iPad mini Pro may be announced at the next Apple Event sometime in the next several weeks. A new or update will lower the price of existing iPads.
__________________
***********************************
--2008 RV-9A
Austin TX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2017, 07:02 AM
mikeos98 mikeos98 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Shickley nebraska
Posts: 7
Default garmin pilot on adroid.

I am running the asus zenpad 10.1 with verizon card. I love it. runs garmin pilot just fine while streaming music. no speed issues at all.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2017, 12:13 PM
mark960 mark960 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island NY / Ft Myers FL
Posts: 31
Default

[quote=RV6_flyer;1159167]ONLY iPad that has Cellular chip has a built in GPS. You do NOT need to have cell service activated for the GPS to work. List price is an extra $130 for the Cellular + WiFi iPad. There are very few GPS devices available that are less than $130 plus then you have an extra device to break, need charging, or to forget.


IF, you are using it to view ADS-B traffic and weather, many of the ADS-B receivers have GPS built in. I use a Garmin GDL-39 and it has the GPS built in.

So, if you plan on using only this app in your aircraft, you CAN get away with a iPad with only 16G and NO GPS (so long as you ADS-B in has it) That being said, you will probably find that you want to use the iPad for a number of other apps and will be happier with 32G of memory.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2017, 11:04 AM
Pool Shark Pool Shark is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 50
Default

First, I Am a confirmed Android guy, but after extensive research, I discovered that the only viable option for Garmin Pilot is the iPad.

I got the iPad Air 2 (64 GB) with cell cabability (the only way to also get GPS), but I have NO PHONE/DATA PLAN. WiFi works great while on the ground (flight planning) and I use Flightstream from the Console Garmin while in flight (so I get AHRS and ADS-b)

Been using it for just over 6 months, and LOVE IT!

Right after I went to all the trouble to create a customized Excel spreadsheet for weight & balance, Garmin added that function to Pilot; really comes in handy.

Anyway, I find the Air 2 is the perfect size and works really well.

The only other advice I can give is spring for the extra memory: definitely get the 64 GB version of whatever iPad model you get.
__________________
Chris Staiger
Baker's Acres, CA
RV-10 #1711
VS, Rudder & HS Complete 1/29/17; Now, bring on those Elevators...
(VAF Dues Paid thru June, 2020)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2017, 11:19 AM
sirlegin's Avatar
sirlegin sirlegin is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 195
Default

I use Garmin Pilot on a Galaxy note 10.1 2014 edition and it works perfectly and it sync's with the GDL to get traffic, weather and terrain at a high speed. No problems thus far.
__________________
Nigel
RV9A-N113SQ
52F
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.