VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-21-2017, 02:30 PM
Jasonm Jasonm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: KAVL
Posts: 300
Default G5 Version

I see in the G3X Touch software version 5.30 released in April of 2017 that the software for the G5 is version 3.10 but 3.20 is out as a standalone version. Can I update my G5, currently running 3.10 to 3.20 without causing problems with my G3X Touch panels?
__________________
Jason McKay
RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-21-2017, 07:41 PM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonm View Post
I see in the G3X Touch software version 5.30 released in April of 2017 that the software for the G5 is version 3.10 but 3.20 is out as a standalone version. Can I update my G5, currently running 3.10 to 3.20 without causing problems with my G3X Touch panels?
Yes. Just did it myself a few weeks ago.
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com/blog (Photography)
Track Me
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-22-2017, 07:09 AM
swordtail swordtail is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Grindstone, PA
Posts: 129
Default

I have NOT had a single problem with my G5 in 45 hours of flying in 6A.
Rock solid
.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-22-2017, 07:20 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonm View Post
I see in the G3X Touch software version 5.30 released in April of 2017 that the software for the G5 is version 3.10 but 3.20 is out as a standalone version. Can I update my G5, currently running 3.10 to 3.20 without causing problems with my G3X Touch panels?
Right or wrong I have updated my G5 to newer versions than what have been embedded in the G3X Touch updates and have never noticed any issue with doing so. For a much longer time frame, the same for the GDL39.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-10-2019, 03:54 AM
DeeCee 57's Avatar
DeeCee 57 DeeCee 57 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Zürich W, Switzerland, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, known Universe...
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Granted the air was not smooth but I did not expect the constant "alignment"
Well, running software 6.0, my faith in the G5 got a severe dent a couple of weeks ago... flying between Denmark and northern Germany between huge cells, I got moderate then severe turbulence lasting more than 25 minutes. After about 5 minutes beating the G5 went into "ALIGNING" mode and persisted for about 15 to 20 minutes before it recovered...

Good thing VMC conditions prevailed
So, no IMC flying on the G5 standalone?

PS
Updated device yesterday to v.6.2, would be surprised if any was done about this difficult to replicate conditions problem.
__________________
Life's short... Enjoy!

DC

http://www.aerofun.ch

RV-4 #2062 HB-YVZ airframe builder
RV-6 #25685, slider, O-360-A3A (carb/dual Lightspeed II), MTV-12-B, HB-YLL owner
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-10-2019, 07:22 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,558
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeCee 57 View Post
Well, running software 6.0, my faith in the G5 got a severe dent a couple of weeks ago... flying between Denmark and northern Germany between huge cells, I got moderate then severe turbulence lasting more than 25 minutes. After about 5 minutes beating the G5 went into "ALIGNING" mode and persisted for about 15 to 20 minutes before it recovered...

Good thing VMC conditions prevailed
So, no IMC flying on the G5 standalone?

PS
Updated device yesterday to v.6.2, would be surprised if any was done about this difficult to replicate conditions problem.
Hello DC,

If you collected a flight data log to the G5 SD card during that flight, you can email it to us and we would be happy to review.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-10-2019, 07:31 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Hello DC,

If you collected a flight data log to the G5 SD card during that flight, you can email it to us and we would be happy to review.

Thanks,
Steve
Steve, never even thought about this or realized the G5 does it's own data logging. So it sounds like keeping a blank SD card in the G5 would be a good idea? Is this same data logged on the data card in the G3X?
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-10-2019, 07:57 AM
BCP Boys's Avatar
BCP Boys BCP Boys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Posts: 723
Default What Walt Asked

Thanks for asking this Walt. Curious myself.
__________________
Amir
----------
RV-7 - My Ferrari in the sky
RV-10 - Partnered with a good friend

Supporting VAF since the first visit
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-10-2019, 08:45 AM
DeeCee 57's Avatar
DeeCee 57 DeeCee 57 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Zürich W, Switzerland, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, known Universe...
Posts: 162
Default

Thanks for the prompt response and as ever excellent Garmin service Steve
Unfortunately I hadn’t activated the logging function, but sure is now.
__________________
Life's short... Enjoy!

DC

http://www.aerofun.ch

RV-4 #2062 HB-YVZ airframe builder
RV-6 #25685, slider, O-360-A3A (carb/dual Lightspeed II), MTV-12-B, HB-YLL owner
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-10-2019, 10:37 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,558
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
Steve, never even thought about this or realized the G5 does it's own data logging. So it sounds like keeping a blank SD card in the G5 would be a good idea? Is this same data logged on the data card in the G3X?
Hello Walt,

Yes, if you put the G5 in configuration mode, and go to the Device Information, Diagnostics, Data Log page and enable data logging, you can log flight data to a 32 Gbyte or smaller SD card formatted for FAT32.

Like the G3X Touch data, this data is in .csv (comma separated value) format, but as you can imagine, the data is much simpler than your G3X Touch system logs, but has good information for diagnostic purposes.

I don't fly with an SD card in my G5 unless there is some data I want to capture.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.