What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Burp all the time?

Ex Bonanza Bucko

Well Known Member
As a newbie I have a lot to learn so this is my next question after seeing the Rotax Owner videos and reading all of your posts which have been very, very helpful:
So...if A.) I am the only pilot to fly the airplane; B.)There is no puddle of oil under the engine and C.)If I changed the oil two hours ago on a new engine and I'm SURE the engine is not using oil, Then:

Is it necessary to Burp the engine to check the oil before the first flight of every day?

Thanks,
EBB

After flight

I normally burp the engine after my flights. Doing it this way only requires turning the prop through about 4 or 5 times (much less than with a cold engine). I then check the oil. This way I know it is good for the next flight, :) unless I see a pool of oil on the floor. :(

If you don't burp the engine you will get a lower than actual oil level due to the oil sitting in the engine, so you might over fill thinking you need oil. There is no mechanical reason to burp (i.e. the engine isn't damaged if you don't).

I used to flail away pulling the prop around until the instructor at the ROTAX course showed me that if you pull it slowly and pause when you feel compression to let the air leak by the rings you'll only have to go through 3 or 4 revolutions to get the burp.

I totally agree with others.

Burp the engine after flight (as said a few blades will do it) - s l o w l y, holding it on compression. We always get it to burp twice, then check the level.

Pre-flight if the oil level is on the flat of the dip stick then you're good to go. The flat level is only 0.45 litre so ex-Lycon drivers have to be trained not to throw in a whole quart (apologies for mixed measures).

Dear Johnny Stick:
Thanks you so much for you kind criticism...now go bend you stick someplace else:)