VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 11-28-2018, 10:35 AM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default Dynon EMS-D10 Percent Power

I would like to get my EMS D10 to display % power. From what I understand, it needs, RPM, MP, OAT, and altitude to make the calculation. The D10 is displaying RPM, MP, and OAT, and I've checked the configuration - which appears to be correct. So I'm assuming the D10 isn't receiving any altitude input. Looking at the pinout, there isn't a dedicated pin for altitude. I'm guessing maybe pin 19 (Auxiliary Serial Receive RS-232)? But the install manual seems to indicate this is for a GPS/Nav/Com input for the HSI expansion module. If this isn't right, how would I bring altitude into the D10?

EMS-D10 Manual (pages 2-5 and 4-2) https://www.dynonavionics.com/includ...uide_Rev_I.pdf

2nd part...where to I get the altitude from? I have a Garmin G5 that is acting as the altitude encoder for a Stratus ESG transponder. The ESG has a pin dedicated to RS-232 Altitude Out (pin 24), so that seems pretty straightforward.
Stratus ESG Manual (Page 19) https://www.dynonavionics.com/includ...uide_Rev_I.pdf

Am I on the right track here? This would be my first foray into any kind of panel wiring. It seems to make sense, but just want to check my understanding before I go poking around.
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill

Last edited by thompsonbr87 : 11-28-2018 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2018, 11:03 AM
rolivi's Avatar
rolivi rolivi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 485
Default

Have you posted same Q to Dynon support forum and/or called them?

They've been pretty good when I've had questions.
__________________
Rob
RV-6A (Purchased)
2018 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2018, 01:32 PM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolivi View Post
Have you posted same Q to Dynon support forum and/or called them?

They've been pretty good when I've had questions.
I called their tech support. The answer I got came across as "yeah, that sounds like it would probably work", but it wasn't super confidence inspiring.
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2018, 02:49 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,706
Default

Do you have a D10A or D100 EFIS?

I had my D10 connected to my D100 and it automatically calculated % power, IIRC.
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2018, 03:22 PM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
Do you have a D10A or D100 EFIS?

I had my D10 connected to my D100 and it automatically calculated % power, IIRC.
No, Garmin G5.
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2018, 04:02 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,706
Default

Reading the D10 manual, it states you need OAT, MAP, RPM, fuel flow, and altitude (from an EFIS or GPS) to calculate the % power, as you know.

On page 4-2 of the D10 EMS Installation Guide they list the systems it is known to work with.

Your EFIS is not listed; however, if you connect it and configure it to output the data as described on page 4-3.

I don't know but it wouldn't surprise me if it worked if you configured the output the same as a 496.

Good luck!

PS. I just found this in the manual:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynon D10 EMS Installation Guide, page 4-4
IF YOU OWN ONLY AN EMS-D10 OR EMS-D120
We recommend that you only connect a GPS to an EMS-only system; without the magnetic heading from an EFIS, the HSI page will not be functional. Connect the GPS transmit line to pin 19 on the EMS DB37 connector. This connection will give you fuel endurance information (range, MPG, etc) on the fuel page and GPS information only (track, ground-speed, course, etc) on the HSI page. There is no need to break this connection when doing PC updates.
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html

Last edited by N941WR : 11-28-2018 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2018, 04:27 PM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
Reading the D10 manual, it states you need OAT, MAP, RPM, fuel flow, and altitude (from an EFIS or GPS) to calculate the % power, as you know.
Yes, forgot to mention FF, but that's there, too.

So that at least confirms that the EMS-D10 gets the altitude from GPS (since I don't have a compatible EFIS) via RS-232 on pin 19.

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
On page 4-2 of the D10 EMS Installation Guide they list the systems it is known to work with.

Your EFIS is not listed; however, if you connect it and configure it to output the data as described on page 4-3.

I don't know but it wouldn't surprise me if it worked if you configured the output the same as a 496.

Good luck!

PS. I just found this in the manual:
It looks it boils down to what sort of output I can get from the Stratus ESG. Time to do a little research on "aviation format" and "NMEA sentences".
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-28-2018, 05:01 PM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default

And now I also see that the Stratus ESG also has a pin for GPS out (Pin 6)...
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2018, 11:17 AM
thompsonbr87's Avatar
thompsonbr87 thompsonbr87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 19
Default

Got my answer from Appareo. Pin 6 is a apparently a proprietary format for providing GPS to Stratus ADS-B In boxes. Pin 24 provides serial altitude in Icarus Alt format, so it looks like I'm at a dead end for now.

Came across this thread which was super helpful: http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...ad.php?t=99465
__________________
Barrett T.
Smyrna, TN - KMQY

RV-6A (Bought)
Cessna 150F (Sold)
'14 Nissan Frontier
Used bicycle from Craigslist
Weber charcoal grill

Last edited by thompsonbr87 : 11-29-2018 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.