VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-15-2020, 09:58 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 959
Default RV7/9 Subpanel Layout- Garmin

Hi all,
i am looking at my subpanel layout for my RV9 and want to know what everyone thinks.

My equipment not on the panel is all Garmin:
G3X displays (GDU 430)
GNX 375 GPS/ xpnder
GNC 255 Com1 / nav
GMA 245 Audio panel
GMC 507 Autopilot controller
G5 backup attitude

Behind the panel:
GSU25 ADHARS
GMA245R (GTR20) Remote Radio
GEA24 Engine interface
GAD 29 ARNIC interface
GAD 27 Airframe Interface (flaps, etc)

Here is my layout.
Please provide comments on the layout, especially the pieces on the subpanel.


__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2020, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Tail 98% done
Wings 98% done
Fuselage Kit 98% done
Finishing Kit 10% Canopy
Electrical 5%
Engine In Stock
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2020, 03:52 PM
airmel's Avatar
airmel airmel is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 155
Default Input from a complete Garmin panel user

Panel looks very nice. Great job mocking up boxes behind panel. One suggestion: switch the GEA24 with the GAD29 box as the GAD29 interfaces with the GTN650 and the GEA24 has all the engine probes that will pass through the firewall and can be tied along the outer edge under the panel until going through the firewall. I have a very similar setup in my -7 which has worked very well for me. If you'd like me to send a few pictures of my panel/subpanel, private message me your email. (I don't do well with posting pics!)
__________________
Melinda Harrill
Flying my RV-7!
Barrett Precision Engine - Superior IO-360 with AFP FI
Garmin Panel - All touchscreens
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2020, 06:38 PM
hiland hiland is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 39
Default Back-Up Nav?

Very nice. Is there a back-up IFR nav to the 375? I see a lot of IFR glass panels with just one box for IFR navigation and approaches. Wondering if I’m missing something. Not criticizing. Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2020, 07:00 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 959
Default backup

Backup to GNX375? yes I am running a VOR in one of the com/nav radio.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2020, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Tail 98% done
Wings 98% done
Fuselage Kit 98% done
Finishing Kit 10% Canopy
Electrical 5%
Engine In Stock
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2020, 09:16 PM
hiland hiland is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 39
Default

Ah. That explains it. Thanks. I figured I must be missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2020, 12:22 PM
flyboy1963's Avatar
flyboy1963 flyboy1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lake Country, B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,408
Default beta tester available

..uhhh….I dunno John, that plan looks a little sketchy.

ahtellyuhwhut…..send all that stuff to me, I'll try it out in my plane, shake out all the bugs for a year or two, and get back to you on what you should do.
yeah, that's the ticket.....a 'beta' tester sorta.....

oh, and no extra charge, just 'cause!

;-b)

P.S. nice panel, we are all envious, donchaknow!
__________________
Perry Y.
RV-9a - SOLD!....
Lake Country, BC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2020, 12:25 PM
climberrn climberrn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 406
Default Access

Sit in the plane and imagine accessing every connection, and box reaching through the hole made by removing the screens in the panel. Only you can judge that. Nice looking panel. What are you doing for CB’s or fuses?

I mounted my transponder and ADSB receiver on the ribs in front of the sub panel thinking the likelihood of needing to get to them was slim....until I did the Dynon ADSB upgrade. Got it done but it could have been a lot easier.
__________________
Joel

N626JA
RV-7A at CXP
Flying!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2020, 02:17 PM
MCA's Avatar
MCA MCA is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 689
Default

A Vertical Power VP-X would be a nice complement to that panel!
__________________
Marc Ausman
RV-7 980 hours, IO-390, VP-X (sold)
RV-8 (flying a friend's)
Thinking about low and slow backcountry build.

VAF Advertiser - Aircraft Wiring Guide
Book to help with experimental aircraft wiring.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.