VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-11-2020, 06:35 PM
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 30
Default How close can switches be?

Thanks to the replies in my previous post, Stein Air had the switches I was looking for. But you know how it goes, one problem solved, another one created. My current panel has the switches 7/8" (0.875") apart, the new switches are 0.833" wide, leaving a very little bit of space.

So, is 0.042" in-between switches enough, or am I looking at redoing my panel?


Thanks,
Steve
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better.
Dues paid for 2020
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2020, 07:26 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 12,900
Default

How big are your hands?

Consult with Stein, they can give you some guidance.

My flap switch I moved out a little bit because it was too close to my throttle quadrant. Othere switches I spaced subtly further away from others, depending on the function.
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2020, 07:37 PM
pazmanyflyer's Avatar
pazmanyflyer pazmanyflyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Crewdog View Post
Thanks to the replies in my previous post, Stein Air had the switches I was looking for. But you know how it goes, one problem solved, another one created. My current panel has the switches 7/8" (0.875") apart, the new switches are 0.833" wide, leaving a very little bit of space.

So, is 0.042" in-between switches enough, or am I looking at redoing my panel?


Thanks,
Steve
You will be ok with 7/8" (.875") center to center spacing. That is how I spaced my switches too. The DPDT are a touch wider than the SPST switches but still work.

Planned spacing:



Physical spacing when mounted. DPDT mag switches and SPST master shown:



__________________
Carlos in Arizona
EAA Chapter 538 www.chapters.eaa.org/eaa538
Wittman Tailwind W8 N53CH (built & sold)
Pazmany PL-1 N2029 (bought & sold)
RV7 - N537TC (reserved & building)
Emp, Wings & Fuse done - working on FWF

"The air is an extremely dangerous, jealous and exacting mistress. Once under the spell most lovers are faithful to the end, which is not always old age." - Winston Churchill

Last edited by pazmanyflyer : 03-11-2020 at 07:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2020, 08:30 PM
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 30
Default

Cool, Thanks.

Carlos, what program are you using? I did mine with XPanel. https://www.xpanelsoftware.com/
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better.
Dues paid for 2020
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2020, 08:45 PM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: 50-50 Wichita KS & Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 222
Default

I don't have a dog in this hunt, but something doesn't look right here. In the second picture of post 3 above, it looks like way more than .042 gap between those switches.

Maybe thats an optical illusion or camera angle or something, but is it possible that here's a math error in the original question? Or maybe those aren't the sam switches in post 3?
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing #72651
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2020, 09:55 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,971
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
I don't have a dog in this hunt, but something doesn't look right here. In the second picture of post 3 above, it looks like way more than .042 gap between those switches.

Maybe thats an optical illusion or camera angle or something, but is it possible that here's a math error in the original question? Or maybe those aren't the sam switches in post 3?
It is 0.038 between switches

They are 0.875 wide, so the gap is 0.042 = well close enough for govt work...
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2020, 10:35 PM
pazmanyflyer's Avatar
pazmanyflyer pazmanyflyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Crewdog View Post
Cool, Thanks.

Carlos, what program are you using? I did mine with XPanel. https://www.xpanelsoftware.com/
AutoCAD 2013. I use it for work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
I don't have a dog in this hunt, but something doesn't look right here. In the second picture of post 3 above, it looks like way more than .042 gap between those switches.

Maybe thats an optical illusion or camera angle or something, but is it possible that here's a math error in the original question? Or maybe those aren't the sam switches in post 3?
Mine are the Carling brand from B&C. Single pole switch bodies measure 1.134”H x .634”W x 1.018”D and double-pole switch bodies measure 1.308”H x .750”W x .887”D. So there is more than the .042 spacing as mentioned in the OP. He says his switch is .833" wide (unspecified type/model) so spacing only gives him .042 spacing. Tight and very little wiggle room but should slide in if they have a smooth side like the Carling type I show.
__________________
Carlos in Arizona
EAA Chapter 538 www.chapters.eaa.org/eaa538
Wittman Tailwind W8 N53CH (built & sold)
Pazmany PL-1 N2029 (bought & sold)
RV7 - N537TC (reserved & building)
Emp, Wings & Fuse done - working on FWF

"The air is an extremely dangerous, jealous and exacting mistress. Once under the spell most lovers are faithful to the end, which is not always old age." - Winston Churchill

Last edited by pazmanyflyer : 03-11-2020 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2020, 11:03 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 959
Default Learning here

I am just learning here, but after one is done wiring, and buttoning up the panel for good, do you guys (or gals) normally cover all the exposed metal connections with shrink sleeving or something ?
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2020, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Tail 98% done
Wings 98% done
Fuselage Kit 98% done
Finishing Kit 10% Canopy
Electrical 5%
Engine In Stock
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2020, 04:33 AM
bobnoffs bobnoffs is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: n. wi
Posts: 731
Default Sunoco has near me

I donít. You should be ok with a good la
__________________
Bob Noffs
n. wi.
dakota hawk/jab 3300 built and flying. sold 6/18.getting serious about the 12. in the hangar now as of 10/15/19
RV-12 kit as of 9/13
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2020, 02:57 PM
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pazmanyflyer View Post
AutoCAD 2013. I use it for work.
Nice


Quote:
Originally Posted by pazmanyflyer View Post
Mine are the Carling brand from B&C. Single pole switch bodies measure 1.134”H x .634”W x 1.018”D and double-pole switch bodies measure 1.308”H x .750”W x .887”D. So there is more than the .042 spacing as mentioned in the OP. He says his switch is .833" wide (unspecified type/model) so spacing only gives him .042 spacing. Tight and very little wiggle room but should slide in if they have a smooth side like the Carling type I show.
My new switches are also Carling, but after spending way too much time swearing while trying to get Fast-On terminals on/off (and with the "strong encouragement" of my retired USN avionics Sea Daddy) I'm switching over to Carling switches with screw-on terminals.
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better.
Dues paid for 2020
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/

Last edited by Steve Crewdog : 03-12-2020 at 03:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.