What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cold Starts without pre-heat

Hornet2008

Well Known Member
Hi All. We are experiencing winter in Australia while the lucky people in the north have warmer climes. Gets sub zero here, we measure temperature in Celsius. Reading Mike Busch's book on Engines he states you should never start a Lycoming below 32 degrees F. I have my Dynon EMS set up in degrees F and don't start unless temp is at least 40 degrees F. What I am finding is the oil pressure is agonisingly slow to come up. Takes about 30 sec to 40psi. Newish engine, 41 hours, Shell straight 100 oil.
Is this going to harm the engine?

Last edited:
Depends.... ;-) How long since the last run? I feel that's more important to preventing engine wear, but it sure wouldn't hurt to have it a little warmer, even with a simple light bulb and some cowl wraps.

-Marc

Hi All. We are experiencing winter in Australia while the lucky people in the north have warmer climes. Gets sub zero here, we measure temperature in Celsius. Reading Mike Busch's book on Engines he states you should never start a Lycoming below 32 degrees F. I have my Dynon EMS set up in degrees F and don't start unless temp is at least 40 degrees F. What I am finding is the oil pressure is agonisingly slow to come up. Takes about 30 sec to 40psi. Newish engine, 41 hours, Shell straight 100 oil.

100 weight oil is TOO thick for operations in freezing temps. Recommend 20W50 or at least a straight 80 weight. You want the oil to flow well at startup and that 100 weight is like honey at 0 F.