VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 05-05-2019, 12:53 PM

Default Precision Approaches-GTN650/Skyview

I am relatively new to the Dynon Skview Classic and GTN 650W combo. I've recently completed phase 1 so I think it's safe to say I'm still a novice with these particular systems. My day job however has allowed me to log a few thousand hours behind a G1000 and at least one hundred precision approaches so I know what lateral and vertical guidance during an approach should look it. While attempting to fly an LPV in my -8 (in VFR conditions), I was not able to bring up vertical guidance on my Skyview PFD. I spoke with a Dynon representative who advised the Pathways need to be activated to do so. This doesn't exactly make sense to me as I'm talking about the vertical guidance (diamond) to the right of the HSI on the PFD. Plus, I don't particularly like to fly with the pathways activated. My HSI source is set to the Garmin and my lateral guidance works appropriately. I am hoping that someone out there has worked through this issue so I don't have to re-nvent the wheel, again...
Thanks in advance!!!
Dues Exempt
Dues up to date
Old 05-05-2019, 01:37 PM

Did you press the VNAV button on the Dynon before intercepting the vertical path? Basically, think of the Dynon as only doing what it's told by the 650, but you have to enable the VNAV function first. I think what the Dynon rep may been telling you (and using perhaps the wrong term) is to enable VNAV. You don't have to have HITS enabled
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Whirlwind 200RV CS Prop
First Flight 11/20/2016
www.marksrv8.com
Old 05-07-2019, 03:17 PM

Mark, thanks for the response. VNAV is an autopilot function. I'm just talking about what the 650 is sending to the Skyview while hand flying. I am not receiving vertical guidance (LPV Approach) on the Skyview display.