VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-06-2014, 08:57 PM
dlloyd3 dlloyd3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Locust, NC
Posts: 337
Default

Randy,
I have replaced a number of EGT probes due to the poorly crimped connectors. My final solution is to crimp and solder new connectors. No soldered connector has failed as of yet.
I don't have the 12's hub but after installing the Dynon Knob panel it failed after a couple hours (went to full bright, then out). About 15 minutes later I got the backup network error message. Once on the ground, a system detect did not show the Knob or either a/p servo. Moved cables around, plugged, unplugged, sometimes would detect the servos, sometimes not, never the Knob. Even borrowed a computer network cable at the FBO to test. Finally satisfied myself the failed Knob panel and not cables or connections was the cause. Dynon replaced the main board in the panel. All is well.
My conclusion is a failure in one part may give a faulty indication elsewhere. Beg, borrow or steal an EMS unit from someone and see if your problem goes away. No, try another ADAHARS. Or display.
__________________
Dave
RV-7 Tipup, Flying, I0-360,
Hartzell, Dual Skyview
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-03-2014, 08:53 PM
meadeduck meadeduck is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 220
Default

We've gt about 130 hours on ours and we've begun to get get oil and gas pressure warnings screaming in our ears. The gauges are also starting to show 'erratic' readings. We've tested the oil pressure and the gas pressure so I know that part's okay. Not sure what to do next.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-03-2014, 09:02 PM
Bill_H's Avatar
Bill_H Bill_H is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Peel, AR
Posts: 1,760
Default

Try this. Easy and cheap. Could not hurt and would be a great data point if your problem was solved. http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...&postcount=240
__________________
Bill H, RV12, N412BR "Sweetie", Skyview-equipped, Call sign Robot
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-04-2014, 06:04 AM
f1rocket's Avatar
f1rocket f1rocket is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Martinsville, IN
Posts: 2,260
Default Problem Solved!

Well I've finally put to bed the electrical gremlins that have been dogging me for the past couple of months. The short answer is that the EMS module had a couple of faulty IC chips in it.

Now for the editorial. Turn off now if you're not interested.

While I have no issues with Dynon's final resolution to the issue, I do have a problem with how long it took me to convince them that it was their module and not my wiring. I guess I understand their position. They are dealing with unknown construction techniques and a ton of builder variables so it's logical that they would suspect the installation. I get that. But at some point, you have to believe me when I tell you that I've checked the connectors, pins, backshells, harnesses, etc. The service technician would actually argue with me on the phone about it. If not for a software update failure I would STILL be living with the problems. I eventually became very frustrated with dealing with them on the telephone and found them to be of little help once I got past their initial remedial solutions. I was left on my own to debug a system where there's nothing but wires running to black boxes.

And there in lies the real problem. Once you've determined that the wiring is okay, there are precious few tools remaining to help you figure out the problem. While the wiring hub that Van's provides has enormous benefits in terms of quality and time to build, it does complicate the debugging process. I'd sure like to see some diagnostic software for the Dynon that could help pinpoint hardware defects more easily.

My advice to others is if you start to experience problems and you've eliminated the sensor or the wiring, get a RMA number from Dynon and send the unit in to them to have it checked out. You can run around in circles for months.
__________________
Randy Pflanzer
Martinsville, IN (II87)

www.pflanzer-aviation.com
Paid through 2043!
Lund fishing Boat, 2017, GONE FISHING
RV-12 - Completed 2014, Sold
427 Shelby Cobra - Completed 2012, Sold
F1 EVO - partially completed, Sold
F1 Rocket - Completed 2005, Sold
RV-7A - Partially completed, Sold
RV-6 - Completed 2000, Sold
Long-EZ - Completed 1987, Sold

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-04-2014, 08:10 AM
WingedFrog's Avatar
WingedFrog WingedFrog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1rocket View Post

My advice to others is if you start to experience problems and you've eliminated the sensor or the wiring, get a RMA number from Dynon and send the unit in to them to have it checked out. You can run around in circles for months.
Excellent advice. I had a problem with my EMS starting on the first flight. The symptoms were probably more telling than yours: interference between the PTT switch and the EGT readings. Once aware of this issue Dynon did not argue and asked me to send my EMS module back. Because of this I am more positive than you are about Dynon's support but you explained well Dynon's position regarding home built airplanes. May be my advice to Dynon would be to be more liberal in allowing RMAs as there means of testing are better than ours. Getting a "black box" out of suspicion would greatly help troubleshooting.
__________________

Builder's name: Jean-Pierre Bernoux
Sport Pilot
Kit # 120395 N124BX
Flying as of 9/11/2013

Builder's Blog:http://vieilleburette.blogspot.com/
EAA 1114

Last edited by WingedFrog : 12-04-2014 at 08:11 AM. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-04-2014, 09:33 AM
MacPara's Avatar
MacPara MacPara is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 449
Default

I feel your pain, Randy! Been there, done that.
Very glad to hear that you finally nailed it down and have a working system now!
__________________
RV-12: #120374, ELSA, N128TL flying since Nov 28, 2013 (Phase 1 completed 1/26/14)
SkyView, Light Package, ADSB
http://torstensrv-12.blogspot.com/
APRS Track
dues paid Nov '16
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-13-2016, 03:51 PM
Slane Slane is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 150
Default Gremlins: EGT and PTT

I'm not at all comfortable at reading electrical diagrams and so maybe the answer to my question is there, I just don't know how to read it. Here's the question: When I press my mic button (PTT), my EGT displays start doing the pogo-stick imitation and jump up and down. This is true for either the pilot or co-pilot. When the PTT is released, the jumping stops and the EGTs read normally. I have the pre-08-25-11 wiring harness for the Skyview.

I've needed to replace both EGT probes some time ago and have experienced good performance since.

When I study the electrical schematic, I see no reference to EGT wiring and could use the help of this group to know where to go next.

Thanks in advance.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-13-2016, 06:50 PM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,525
Default

Scott Lane,
The problem could be grounding. Make sure there is no paint under the battery ring terminal where it bolts to the airframe. And make sure that the engine is well grounded to the same point and that the crimps are secure with no corrosion. Below is a quote from the Dynon D-180 installation manual. It also applies to the Skyview. Turn on ALL electrical loads during the test.
Also check the radio antenna coax cable and the antenna mounting for ground connection.
Quote:
Because of the current drawn by the FlightDEK-D180, even very small resistances between battery ground and instrument ground can cause voltage differences which adversely affect engine sensor readings. An easy way to test the quality of the instrument’s ground is to measure voltage between the ground pin at the FlightDEK-D180 and the ground lead at your aircraft’s battery. With the FlightDEK-D180 powered on, connect one lead of your voltmeter to a free ground lead coming from the FlightDEK-D180. Connect the other lead of your voltmeter to the ground terminal of your battery. The voltage between these two points should measure very close to 0 mV (within 5 mV). If it does not, you must improve the ground connection between the ground of your battery and that of your avionics bus.
__________________
Joe Gores

Last edited by Mich48041 : 09-13-2016 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-13-2016, 08:05 PM
Slane Slane is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 150
Default Gremlin Test later this week

Thanks Joe!
I'll test this out when I can get to the hangar later this week, and report findings back here. Still curious though about EGT not showing on the electrical schematic.
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-13-2016, 09:24 PM
skydiverlv skydiverlv is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 268
Default

Dynon had some EMS units that had need to be returned.
Experiencing the same issue, I sent mine to them, and after return, no issues. That was about two years ago, but you know how time flies.
__________________

Larry Vandegrift
ULPower 260is, dual ECUs, dual 30 amp alternators
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.