VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2018, 12:39 PM
dmat dmat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Union County, NJ
Posts: 455
Default Using old Pitot tube metal lines on Garmin G3x

Hi,

I am planning replacing my current pitot tube with a g3x heated tube.

I want to know if I can use the metal tubing that the old pitot tube is connected to on the g3x or do I need to snake new line through the wing?

I would assume the current tubing (metal) is 1/4 inch and the new synthetic stuff is 1/8.

Can I put a reducer fitting at the end of it to connect the new pitot to the old tubing?

Thanks,
D
__________________
RV6A - N6389 - flying regularly
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2018, 02:21 PM
Ralph Inkster Ralph Inkster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 419
Default

You could reuse the 1/4" aluminum line if you wish, but why? The new 1/4" plastic lines are so easy to work with and the fittings provided in the Garmin & Dynon Pitot Static line kits are fool proof & NEVER leak. I assume you will be running the second line for the AoA probe anyway, add 10 extra minutes to run a new Pitot line & make the job quick & simple.
__________________
Ralph
Maintain lots, upgraded & repaired some, modified more, rebuild a few, & built 4 of 'em
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2018, 03:06 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,461
Default

To answer the question, reducing it from 1/4' to 3/16", which I believe the lines on the Garmin and Dynon are, would not be any problem. There are multiple ways of doing it however Garmin recommends 8" distance from the main tube if using plastic type fittings due to the heat.
__________________
Mehrdad
RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2018, 03:59 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 550
Default my take.

I don't think the size difference would matter. These lines just transmit pressure, there is no air flow.

as far as the ends go, I just slipped the plastic over the metal after heating up with a heatgun. there is no really pressure and no real flow, so it is not critical. Just make sure there are no leaks. JMHO
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Extra dues paid 2018, worth every penny

RV9A- Status: tail feathers done less tips
Wings done less tips and avionics
Fuselage 30%
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2018, 04:43 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,052
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmat View Post
Hi,

I am planning replacing my current pitot tube with a g3x heated tube.

I want to know if I can use the metal tubing that the old pitot tube is connected to on the g3x or do I need to snake new line through the wing?

I would assume the current tubing (metal) is 1/4 inch and the new synthetic stuff is 1/8.

Can I put a reducer fitting at the end of it to connect the new pitot to the old tubing?

Thanks,
D
Hello dmat,

All 3 models of the GAP 26 pitot/AOA probe use 3/16" aluminum tubing.

One of many options is to flare the ends of your existing 1/4" tubing and the 3/16" tubing on the GAP 26 (after installing sleeves and nuts) and use an AN919-2D 1/4" to 3/16" reducer to connect the two.



Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2018, 04:50 PM
Deweyclawson Deweyclawson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Enon Valley
Posts: 144
Default

In regards to "Just make sure there are no leaks."
the GAP26 pitot/AOA is designed to leak.
Don't ask me, or my avionics shop, how I know that.

We had to get Garmin to send us a copy of the Garmin manual page before we would believe it has a designed in leak.

Unless you really, really know what you are doing, let your avionics shop do the leak check. You do not want to create a leak somewhere that would allow all that expensive smoke out.
__________________
Dewey Clawson
Super Sabre Society
1993 RV6A, 1947 Cessna 140, in progress
2018 dues exempt but paid anyhow
F100,A7D,A10,F16,
Fokker,Boeing,McDonnell-Douglas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.