What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tire Problem

pilotyoung

Well Known Member
I am posting this situation to keep someone else from making the same mistake I did. I am a new owner, I bought my RV-12 in February 2018. I have been a pilot for many years, but am new to maintenance.

Saturday I flew from KEET to KBGF to attend a fly-in breakfast. I took a friend with me so we could enjoy the fly-in together.

When I landed at KBGF I could not steer the aircraft. It started going left and nothing I could do would stop it. I was able to miss a taxi light by using the left brake. The aircraft ran off the runway into the grass and did a 180 before it stopped. So we were sitting in the aircraft, facing the way we flew in, and not knowing for sure what happened. I thought the left tire had blown.

We got out of the aircraft and the left tire was flat. The aircraft has slid on the wheel pants on the runway before it exited to the left. The airport manager and a couple other people came out to see if we were OK and we were. They help me jack the aircraft up, get the wheel pant off, and then we were able to pull it onto the runway, put a dolly under the left wheel, and tow it to the ramp. We then had breakfast and after eating I went to work taking the left wheel off. When I got it off, I was surprised that there was not a bad spot on the tire and it appeared normal. I put air into it to see what would happen. It was holding air except it was leaking through the valve stem. After tightening the valve stem, it held air. I reinstalled the wheel, and flew back to KEET. I went to the airport today and the tire was still holding air.