- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-10
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-19-2013, 03:40 PM

Default Nose Landing Gear Play

Hey guys, I've been flying my -10 for 4 years now. I finally replaced the nose tire and noticed when I had the nose off the ground that there was some play in the landing gear....not a whole lot but enough to make me check all the bushings. I don't normally lift the leg up but when I checking torque's and generally inspecting the nose wheel area I lifted the gear leg and found very slight vertical and lateral movement. The plans don't mention play limits and its been too long since I first installed the gear to remember if I had it from new or not. The bushings were fine and the gear shows no wear...I'm thinking I may be over thinking this but was curious if others noticed this when new because I can't remember.
Old 04-19-2013, 04:01 PM

If your nose gear has vertical motion when it is unloaded, it simply means the rubber shock "donuts" have compressed. Vans provided, with your kit, extra washers to be used and installed just for this reason. The washers are installed at the top end of the shaft under the "top hat". I am sure you can obtain these from Vans.
If you have lateral movement, I would check the bushings at the gear leg pivot points.
WA0SYV
Aviation Partners, LLC
Old 04-19-2013, 04:10 PM
Senior Curmudgeon

The rubber donuts do settle in a bit, that may be the source of your up/dn movement.

See page 46-7, upper right hand, second paragraph (I think it is) discusses adding a second u-1002 washer after the donuts settle.

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."