VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-8/8A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-13-2018, 05:50 PM
RV8JD's Avatar
RV8JD RV8JD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieL View Post
If you have wifi in your hangar, you can use a "Wemo Smart Plug" Very simple and inexpensive. I think the one I have is called the Wemo mini, cost about $29 at Homer Depot. I've only been using it a couple of months, but seems to be working fine. I can turn it on and off remotely via cell phone.
If you don't have Wi-Fi, one option is to put a Wi-Fi hotspot in the hangar and add it to your cellular plan. Bruce discusses this in great detail in his post below (Thanks Bruce!). I did it also and it has worked well for the second season now. I routinely turn on the engine preheater before I leave the house. Note that once in awhile the Wemo Insight Smart Plug gets wonky and won't connect to the Wi-Fi. There are solutions for that (e.g., set the Wi-Fi hotspot bandwidth to 20 MHz instead of 40 MHz).

http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...96&postcount=1
__________________
Carl N.
Arlington, WA (KAWO)
RV-8, 250 Tach Hours
(Pic)
- Out with the Old, In with the New (Pic)
RV-8, 1938 Tach Hours
(Pic 1), (Pic 2), (Pic 3) - Sold
Glasflügel H-201B Standard Libelle, N564NS - Sold
Rolladen-Schneider LS1-f, N61MP - No longer owned

Last edited by RV8JD : 01-13-2018 at 06:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2018, 06:34 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snopercod View Post
So the SIM card would just plug into the Switchbox device as if it were a cell phone?
Yup, 100% correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plummit View Post
Those Chinese GSM switches are just junk. I had lots of problems with them. As we know the times we'll be flying I ordered a digital timer that I'll program to start the heater when we expect to fly. WiFi would be a better choice and I may go to that later, but for now this seems like a better alternative.
I've used these 2G/4G GSM switches since 2010 and I have yet to have one let me down even once.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
EAA Technical Counselor
The Best FAA N-Number Availability Search Engine -TailNum.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2018, 06:53 PM
stneki stneki is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 83
Default

I do have 2G unit that works on T-Mobile that I not using due to no T-Mobile reception in my area.
__________________
RV7A Completed
N315S
Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:39 PM
rockwoodrv9 rockwoodrv9 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian ID, Aspen CO
Posts: 2,327
Default

Is this a switch that would work?

https://www.amazon.com/Fashion-Wirel...l+phone+switch

The heater I have once turned off, the on switch needs to be pushed to get it to restart. I know I would have to get a different heater but it would still be nice to control it with a cell call.

Edit: thanks for the info Mike. I thought maybe walmart phone or T Mobil may work. That does explain the price!
__________________
rockwoodrv9a
Meridian Idaho
rockwoodrv9a@gmail.com
O-320 D2A
Awaiting DAR Inspection

Last edited by rockwoodrv9 : 01-13-2018 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-13-2018, 08:15 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockwoodrv9 View Post
Is this a switch that would work?

https://www.amazon.com/Fashion-Wirel...l+phone+switch

The heater I have once turned off, the on switch needs to be pushed to get it to restart. I know I would have to get a different heater but it would still be nice to control it with a cell call.
That switch would work if you could find a provider that still had 2G GSM service. I don't know of any...ATT and TMobile are both 4G. I learned that the hard way when my older heater relay wouldn't work this year. I think most carriers have abandoned the 2G band. That's probably why the switchbox is only $50.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
EAA Technical Counselor
The Best FAA N-Number Availability Search Engine -TailNum.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-13-2018, 09:11 PM
RV6_flyer's Avatar
RV6_flyer RV6_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NC25
Posts: 2,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullojm1 View Post
That switch would work if you could find a provider that still had 2G GSM service. I don't know of any...ATT and TMobile are both 4G. I learned that the hard way when my older heater relay wouldn't work this year. I think most carriers have abandoned the 2G band. That's probably why the switchbox is only $50.
T-Mobile still support 2G GSM. Talk is they will support it through 2019.
__________________
Gary A. Sobek
NC25 RV-6
Flying
3,300+ hours
Building RV-8 S/N: 80012

To most people, the sky is the limit.
To those who love aviation, the sky is home.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2018, 09:26 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV6_flyer View Post
T-Mobile still support 2G GSM. Talk is they will support it through 2019.
T-Mobile's 2G network doesn't work at my home airport or my home. I popped a SIM card in my 2G GSM Switch box and it doesn't even pick up a signal. Same SIM card in a new 4G box and it worked flawlessly. T-Mobile 2G worked just fine 2 years ago.

Point is, if you are investing in a new switchbox, make sure it is 4G. The 2/3G models may or may not work, and they definitely have a short lifespan.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
EAA Technical Counselor
The Best FAA N-Number Availability Search Engine -TailNum.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-13-2018, 09:36 PM
donaziza's Avatar
donaziza donaziza is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 493
Default

So I went and researched this all out this afternoon. Yeah, the $300 switch box would work apparently, but I'd still have to get a AT&T prepaid Mobile Hotspot box for another $60, and then purchase their 1 gig plan for another $25, plus pay whatever for a monthly fee. ( Mike bullojm1) mentioned the T Mobile sim for some $10 per month or so.

All the others, Wemo etc, require a WiFi at the hangar which I don't have. Long story short, if I still lived in Milwaukee, yeah--do it. But I now live in Atlanta, in a hangar---and thus I'd need this about 4 to 6 times a year in January and February. I'm thinking, it's not worth the money anymore. I've got a "many amps heater" with a fan in it, and then one of those big silver colored heat duct tubes (like your furnace uses)---shove that up the back end air vent exit, by the exhaust pipes and wait. Can't remember from last year if it took a half hour or a full hour.

Ho Hum---woulda been nice.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-14-2018, 06:11 AM
Saville's Avatar
Saville Saville is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: KBVY Massachusetts
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donaziza View Post
So I went and researched this all out this afternoon. Yeah, the $300 switch box would work apparently, but I'd still have to get a AT&T prepaid Mobile Hotspot box for another $60, and then purchase their 1 gig plan for another $25, plus pay whatever for a monthly fee. ( Mike bullojm1) mentioned the T Mobile sim for some $10 per month or so.

All the others, Wemo etc, require a WiFi at the hangar which I don't have. Long story short, if I still lived in Milwaukee, yeah--do it. But I now live in Atlanta, in a hangar---and thus I'd need this about 4 to 6 times a year in January and February. I'm thinking, it's not worth the money anymore. I've got a "many amps heater" with a fan in it, and then one of those big silver colored heat duct tubes (like your furnace uses)---shove that up the back end air vent exit, by the exhaust pipes and wait. Can't remember from last year if it took a half hour or a full hour.

Ho Hum---woulda been nice.
Why do you need the $60 mobile hot spot box? I have the $300 switchbox and I don't have the hot spot box.
__________________
Flying RV-8 N880BC
Double the 2017 Dues - happily paid.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-14-2018, 10:22 AM
donaziza's Avatar
donaziza donaziza is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saville View Post
Why do you need the $60 mobile hot spot box? I have the $300 switchbox and I don't have the hot spot box.

Gregg, Educate me if you would please. Best Buy and AT&T said I needed it---to transmit the cell signal to the switchbox?? If I don't need it Fantastic. Can you explain it here in detail, not only for me, but for all the others watching too?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.