VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:13 AM
jwilbur jwilbur is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 630
Default OAT Probe

Anyone install their OAT probe through the bottom of the RV10 fuse in the battery compartment bay or the bay just aft? Any reason not to?
__________________
-Joe Wilbur (N520LW)
Phase II - 11/2017
First flight - 8/2017
RV-10 Build Log
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:21 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 3,971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilbur View Post
Anyone install their OAT probe through the bottom of the RV10 fuse in the battery compartment bay or the bay just aft? Any reason not to?
You want to keep it out of the exhaust flow. Based on how much grime I clean off that location, I'm not sure I would put it there.

I have one adjacent to the first access panel on each wing. At that distance, I'm seeing a 1 degree difference in temps. I don't know if that reflects a real difference or just a calibration issue.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:26 AM
Bluelabel's Avatar
Bluelabel Bluelabel is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 426
Default I did

I didn't get mine until it was shipped with my panel from Stien,then it was too late to put it into the wing. Put it as far back as I could.
People will say that the exhaust will effect it. I really don't think so. Exhaust is going to get blown away well before it hits the probe. So far high speed taxiing around shows it gives the same reading as my GRT probe which which is in my front Naca scoop. But that also gives me point of reference as well.
Made the install a lot easier that's for sure.
__________________
John Walker
RV-10 N265WD
"Miss Whiskey Delta"
BPE IO-540, FULL EFII
KMYF, San Diego, Ca.
KEOS, Neosho, MO

Crew Lead on the
Grove Aero Super Legacy Reno Racer,
twin turbo, IO-540,
full EFII management system
!

"so I got that going for me... which is nice."
2017 Dues Paid"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:29 AM
guccidude1 guccidude1 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 511
Default OAT Probe

Agree with previous post not to put on bottom of fuselage. Exhaust and hot air from engine will cause a warmer than normal outside air temp. This elevated temp will affect TAS readings and thus affect wind direction and speed display. Recommend placement on wing access panel. Dan from Reno
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:32 AM
Bill.Peyton's Avatar
Bill.Peyton Bill.Peyton is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,644
Default

I put mine in the right wing in the panel near the bellcrank. It's right on the money
__________________
Bill Peyton
RV-10 - 780 Hrs
First Flight Oct 2012
WA0SYV
Aviation Partners, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2016, 09:33 AM
Auburntsts's Avatar
Auburntsts Auburntsts is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dumfries, VA
Posts: 2,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluelabel View Post
I didn't get mine until it was shipped with my panel from Stien,then it was too late to put it into the wing.
Why was it too late?
__________________
Todd Stovall
PP ASEL-IA
RV-10 N728TT - Flying!
WAR EAGLE!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2016, 10:23 AM
Flying again!'s Avatar
Flying again! Flying again! is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluelabel View Post
I didn't get mine until it was shipped with my panel from Stien,then it was too late to put it into the wing. Put it as far back as I could.
People will say that the exhaust will effect it. I really don't think so. Exhaust is going to get blown away well before it hits the probe. So far high speed taxiing around shows it gives the same reading as my GRT probe which which is in my front Naca scoop. But that also gives me point of reference as well.
Made the install a lot easier that's for sure.
I moved mine from the NACA duct and moved it under the right wing near the first access panel. The new location shows 3-5 degree F lower temperature than the NACA duct. I think the NACA duct gets air that is heated by the engine/cowl and spillage from the inlets as well as the sun.

Just my observation.

TJ
__________________
RV-10 N331JH 3rd owner (First flew in 2005, #15 flying)
Northwest Regional 52F
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2016, 11:13 AM
Bluelabel's Avatar
Bluelabel Bluelabel is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auburntsts View Post
Why was it too late?
It was already wired into our harness. Which meant fishing the actual probe itself out to the wing.
Once flying next month I'll do some testing and post if there's any discrepancies... I suspect that at the speeds the 10 goes, there won't be any issues, but I'll find out.

For what it's worth, I see ALOT of OAT probes installed in the NACA scoop.
Most certified planes they are on the windscreen about 6 inches for where mine is in the scoop.
__________________
John Walker
RV-10 N265WD
"Miss Whiskey Delta"
BPE IO-540, FULL EFII
KMYF, San Diego, Ca.
KEOS, Neosho, MO

Crew Lead on the
Grove Aero Super Legacy Reno Racer,
twin turbo, IO-540,
full EFII management system
!

"so I got that going for me... which is nice."
2017 Dues Paid"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2016, 11:15 AM
jwilbur jwilbur is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 630
Default Rear NACA scoop?

Many RV10s have NACA scoops in the back also (such as mine). Any thoughts about putting the probe in the rear scoops?
__________________
-Joe Wilbur (N520LW)
Phase II - 11/2017
First flight - 8/2017
RV-10 Build Log
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2016, 11:24 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluelabel View Post
It was already wired into our harness. Which meant fishing the actual probe itself out to the wing.
Once flying next month I'll do some testing and post if there's any discrepancies... I suspect that at the speeds the 10 goes, there won't be any issues, but I'll find out.

For what it's worth, I see ALOT of OAT probes installed in the NACA scoop.
Most certified planes they are on the windscreen about 6 inches for where mine is in the scoop.
For what it's worth, there have been many, many reports here on VAF and other RV places that the NACA scoop will read high by a significant amount in flight.

Taxi testing isn't going to show this - nowhere near the amount of power or airflow. You might see a lot of OAT probes in NACA scoops on RV's, but that doesn't mean they are reading correctly. Those of us that have actually TESTED to location know that it doesn't work if you want accuracy.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.