VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-17-2016, 06:39 AM
Dgamble's Avatar
Dgamble Dgamble is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_T View Post
The SV Autopilot harness is replaced when you install the Knobs Kit. The new harness comes in the kit. However, I don't think it is long enough to reach the right panel where you want to install the modules. You could extend it assuming you are handy with wiring. If your plane has the conversion harnesses, that complicates it I think. The modules are not supposed to be compatible with the D-180/SV conversion harnesses but there are a few that have put them in successfully.
I have the conversion harness. It was pretty straightforward.
__________________
Dave Gamble
Grove City, OH

RV-6 N466PG Purchased already flying - SOLD!

Built RV-12
http://www.schmetterlingaviation.com

The above web blogs and any links provided thereto are not instructional or advisory in nature. They merely seek to share my experiences in building and flying Van's RV airplanes.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-17-2016, 11:41 PM
PMLviator PMLviator is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Groveland CA
Posts: 29
Default

So the trim function of the AP panel works in either advanced or simple AP mode. But will the "level" button work in simple AP mode ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-11-2018, 07:59 PM
ben barron ben barron is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fall City, WA
Posts: 98
Cool Autopilot knob kit...avionics cover removal

I followed the advice of the above, saved up and just purchased the Van's Autopilot knob kit. It will be here next week. Do I need to remove the avionic cover? (I really don't want to no leaks now...)
__________________
B2RV12
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-12-2018, 08:33 AM
John-G John-G is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 476
Default

Ben- It is like most things ... if there is a will there is a way. That said, I think you could perform the necessary steps if you are really careful and have lots patience. However, my vote is make it easier on yourself, bite the bullet and remove the skin covering the avionics bay.

There is a connector that needs to have pins removed/inserted which may be tougher to access and you will be able to do a much better job of dealing with the metal chips if you need to cut the panel yourself.

Also, if memory serves me correctly, the wires for the AP module also go to the AV-50000A interconnect module so you will likely need to remove the SkyView for access so that connector can be installed.
__________________
John
www.dogaviation.com
RV-12 Wings, Empennage, Fuselage, Finishing, Avionics and Powerplant kits all completed
Now Flying!!

Dues paid until September 2018
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.