VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-28-2018, 06:32 AM
Cwood2000 Cwood2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tallahassee, fl
Posts: 95
Default Aux battery location

I plan on PMags and was wondering where to locate the aux bat. Is there enough room on the inside if the firewall back to back with the primary bat?
__________________
Aka YellaDawg
RV4
RV14 in gestation
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2018, 07:27 AM
M McGraw's Avatar
M McGraw M McGraw is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenback, TN
Posts: 403
Default Yes there is room

This is a PC680 mounted in the area you are interested. You will need to build the mount from inside the airframe because the access panel pictured is not part of the -14 kit.
__________________
Marvin McGraw, 5TN4
RV-14. #140039 Complete
Flight hours: 200+
2018 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2018, 07:35 AM
Larco Larco is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DVT Phoenix
Posts: 1,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwood2000 View Post
I plan on PMags and was wondering where to locate the aux bat. Is there enough room on the inside if the firewall back to back with the primary bat?
Why are you planning a back up battery for use with Pmags? Just curious.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2018, 03:56 PM
Cwood2000 Cwood2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tallahassee, fl
Posts: 95
Default

Electronic ignition requires a aux electrical system
__________________
Aka YellaDawg
RV4
RV14 in gestation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2018, 04:37 PM
JDA_BTR JDA_BTR is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 617
Default

Best thing about the PMag is that it supplies it's own primary power once running; the ship battery becomes the backup and a third source is unneeded.
__________________
<------------------------------------------------->
N1463 seems a good number....
<------------------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2018, 06:22 PM
czechsix's Avatar
czechsix czechsix is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spring Hill, KS
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M McGraw View Post
This is a PC680 mounted in the area you are interested. You will need to build the mount from inside the airframe because the access panel pictured is not part of the -14 kit.
Marvin, why did you install the PC680 in that area instead of the stock kit location on the firewall?
__________________
Mark Navratil
Spring Hill, KS
RV-8A N2D #80583 - built/flew/sold
RV-14A #140017 - wings complete, empacone in progress...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2018, 06:28 PM
M McGraw's Avatar
M McGraw M McGraw is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenback, TN
Posts: 403
Default PC680

Quote:
Originally Posted by czechsix View Post
Marvin, why did you install the PC680 in that area instead of the stock kit location on the firewall?
I have two electrical systems. One on each side between the firewall and the subpanel. I have a 1/2 Raven installed where the battery would normally be on the firewall.
__________________
Marvin McGraw, 5TN4
RV-14. #140039 Complete
Flight hours: 200+
2018 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2018, 04:11 AM
Cwood2000 Cwood2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tallahassee, fl
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDA_BTR View Post
Best thing about the PMag is that it supplies it's own primary power once running; the ship battery becomes the backup and a third source is unneeded.
That is good news, so I don't need a back up battery! Saves much weight
Thanks for. The info!
__________________
Aka YellaDawg
RV4
RV14 in gestation

Last edited by Cwood2000 : 01-30-2018 at 05:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2018, 09:00 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwood2000 View Post
That is old news, so I don't need a back up battery! Saves much weight
Thanks for. The info!
Yep - assuming you donít have an electric dependent panel for IFR flight.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2018, 11:59 AM
Bevan Bevan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BC
Posts: 1,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwood2000 View Post
I plan on PMags and was wondering where to locate the aux bat. Is there enough room on the inside if the firewall back to back with the primary bat?
On the work bench. Sorry, but other than for engine starting, a small backup alternator (mounted on the vacuum pad) would be much better all the way around. Lighter, less maintenance, known useable capacity which doesnít deteriorate further as the battery ages.

Bevan.
__________________
RV7A Flying
O-360-A1F6 (parallel valve) 180HP
Dual P-mags
Precision F.I. with AP purge valve
Vinyl Wrapped Exterior
Grand Rapids EFIS
Located in western Canada
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.