- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-05-2018, 09:26 AM

Default New build - bent aluminum question

Hi All,
I'm a new builder staring a -14A. Working on Vertical Stabilizer (after having done the SportAir class and a few practice kits) and really enjoying it.
Today I was working on the top tip rib, part VS-706, on the step where I need to radius the corners at the Tip Rib flange to ensure a good fit when skins are installed.

While making the radius on the scotch-brite wheel, I accidentally caught it wrong and it bounced off of the wheel and slightly bent the forward tip of the rib.
Picture below:

It will install fine, but wondering if the part should be replaced? I of course want a "near-perfect" plane, but trying to maintain pragmatism and not be overzealous during the build. The light during the pic makes it worse than it is.

Also - why were the Ribs not sent in blue vinyl? I am pretty sure no clear vinyl on them. Just seems strange considering nearly everything else was sent still covered.

Thanks for your thoughts.

RV-14A Kit #140477
http://www.rkulesa.com/category/building-a-plane/
Empennage in progress

Last edited by rjkulesa@gmail.com : 05-05-2018 at 09:35 AM.
Old 05-05-2018, 09:37 AM

Close call maybe but I would replace that one. I replaced the same part because I over aggressively eased the edges.

It’s the kind of thing that will bug you if you leave as is. Not that there aren’t a few of those still installed in my build. Some non-alclad parts come sans vinyl. Just did my roll bar and it was the same way as have been many parts along the way.
https://turnerb14a.blogspot.com/

Last edited by mturnerb : 05-05-2018 at 09:39 AM.
Old 05-05-2018, 10:36 AM

Default Rib

Cheap part, cheap shipping. Replace and sleep.
You obviously know why it caught.