VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #31  
Old 06-24-2014, 12:30 AM
paul mosher
 
Posts: n/a
Default read

Read post #12. Says no battery.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-19-2014, 10:01 AM
BillC BillC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ramona, Ca
Posts: 257
Default Ultra Status Update

Thought I would update everyone on my current observations of the Ultra. First I should state up front that I have been a beta tester for AvMap aviation products for several years, so I have had the chance to test many versions of their software and hardware.
As of Software version 5.14 all of the previously listed issues seem to have been resolved. I have been flying with this version for some time now and can say that it appears to be very stable. Magnetic calibration is now within a few degrees of what I see on my Dynon D-100, so I'm happy with that. CDI and wind vector issues have been corrected. On a recent trip from San Diego to Sacramento and back, I used it as a cross check for my primary navigation GPS & flight instruments and it was right on. In general, I think that with the latest software, the Ultra is doing what it was designed to do.

Of course, YMMV
Bill
__________________
Bill RV-9A Flying
FFI-Wingman
N99WC
Ramona, CA (KRNM)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-02-2014, 05:35 PM
pericynthion pericynthion is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Bill and everyone for the reports.

Can anyone tell me whether the Ultra provides an altitude output on one of its RS232 ports? The installation manual says it does so when connected to a Micro Air T2000 transponder, but I don't have one of those. I'd like to use it to feed altitude to my SL70R, via a custom microcontroller protocol converter if necessary...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-02-2014, 05:47 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 13,594
Default Welcome to VAF!

Henry, welcome to VAF
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-03-2014, 12:56 PM
BillC BillC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ramona, Ca
Posts: 257
Default

Henry,
I suggest that you contact the factory and ask them what information and format is available on the serial ports. Or perhaps look to see if you can find any information on the Micro Air unit's serial comm port. Sorry but I have not tried connecting the Ultra to any other equipment so I have no personal experience to share.
__________________
Bill RV-9A Flying
FFI-Wingman
N99WC
Ramona, CA (KRNM)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-03-2014, 10:55 PM
pericynthion pericynthion is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2
Default

OK, thanks Bill. I emailed the manufacturer a couple of days ago but haven't heard back yet. I'll post when I find something out.

Thanks for the welcome Mike

Henry
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-19-2015, 11:46 AM
Amit's Avatar
Amit Amit is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hood River,OR
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amit View Post
Turns out the diameter of the round part is just larger than the standard, 3 1/8" and the hole pattern for screws is different as well. So this is not a simple replacement of an AI upgrade.
Just FYI.
Still might be a good EFIS for a fresh design.
Update:
Looking at AvMap website, there seems to have been a design revision.
The new model (while it seems to be identical feature-wise) is now physically a fit for a standard 3" hole in the panel, including the hole pattern for the screws.
Much better.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-08-2017, 07:21 PM
TeamFAS TeamFAS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 31
Default

Any updates about people using this unit? Any better units out there?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-29-2017, 12:09 PM
1flyingyogi 1flyingyogi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 166
Default Garmin G5 vs. AVMAP Ultra?

I just bought the G5 and literally after I got home I saw the AVMAP, which looks like it's got more functions, an external GPS antenna, lower cost. Can someone comment on how they like theirs, esp. with the new version? Any negatives compared to the G5 aside from "ugly" graphics and lack of back-up battery?
__________________
Brian RV4 (bought)
0-320 Carbureted, FP wood prop, Raven 1/2 Oil
Dues Happily Paid
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-13-2017, 03:45 PM
TeamFAS TeamFAS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 31
Default

After checking out the Avmap at Oshkosh, I bought and installed it. Flew a 1700 mile round trip last weekend in it... works well. I mean to do a full write up in the future, but in the mean time, I am very happy with it!
__________________
1981 RV-3 bought 1/2017. O-320
Dues Paid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.