VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2020, 06:50 PM
Pilotjkl Pilotjkl is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Seminole Tx (GNC)
Posts: 54
Default GNX 375 and AK-350 altitude encoder install

I’m installing the GNX 375 in my -6 and I would like to use the existing AK-350 altitude encoder, Has anyone installed the GNX 375 with this encoder? If so could you share pin out, also will the 375 connect to Garmin 696?
Thanks
John.
__________________
Commercial pilot
A&P
RV-6 0-320 160hp
Cessna 170A
King Air B200 Blackhawk conversion
2019 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:03 PM
Jpm757 Jpm757 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sherman, CT
Posts: 558
Default

The GNX 375 is a self contained IFR navigator, Mode S transponder, Encoder, and ADS-B in/ out.
You can ditch ACK encoder.
__________________
Jake
RV6 #20477 completed 1991 sold.
RV7 #72018 N767T first flight 11/21/2017 300+ hrs.
IO-360M1B MT 3 blade, Dual AFS 5600 QUICK Panel.
Manual Flaps. KOXC Oxford, CT
1941 J3 Cub skis,floats.
2019 dues gladly paid.

Last edited by Jpm757 : 01-16-2020 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Edit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2020, 10:24 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpm757 View Post
The GNX 375 is a self contained IFR navigator, Mode S transponder, Encoder, and ADS-B in/ out.
You can ditch ACK encoder.
The GAE altitude encoder module is an optional accessory.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2020, 11:48 PM
Pdtofly Pdtofly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 305
Default GNX 375 to AK-350 interconnect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotjkl View Post
I’m installing the GNX 375 in my -6 and I would like to use the existing AK-350 altitude encoder, Has anyone installed the GNX 375 with this encoder? If so could you share pin out, also will the 375 connect to Garmin 696?
Thanks
John.
John,

If you don’t get an answer, I will have something for you in a couple of days.

Email at hr2plt@yahoo.com and I will email it to you.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2020, 02:13 AM
DeeCee 57's Avatar
DeeCee 57 DeeCee 57 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Zürich W, Switzerland, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, known Universe...
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
The GNX 375 is a self contained IFR navigator, Mode S transponder, Encoder, and ADS-B in/ out.
You can ditch ACK encoder.
Partly correct, but the encoder needs an altitude source such as a G3X, G5 or similar to work. Otherwise you are bound to use an external encoder such as the GAE or else.
I would imagine you will find the pinout in the very complete IM.
__________________
Life's short... Enjoy!

DC

http://www.aerofun.ch

RV-6 #25685, slider, O-360-A3A (carb/dual Lightspeed II), MTV-12-B, HB-YLL owner & lover
RV-4 #2062 HB-YVZ airframe builder
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2020, 06:26 AM
Jpm757 Jpm757 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sherman, CT
Posts: 558
Default

The GAE12 encoder is a very small module that attaches directly to the rear of the GTX375 and requires a static input. If you are spending the money on a GTX375 then I would recommend another $250 For this option. It is a plug and play module that requires no wiring and should be considerably more reliable than the older ACK encoder.
__________________
Jake
RV6 #20477 completed 1991 sold.
RV7 #72018 N767T first flight 11/21/2017 300+ hrs.
IO-360M1B MT 3 blade, Dual AFS 5600 QUICK Panel.
Manual Flaps. KOXC Oxford, CT
1941 J3 Cub skis,floats.
2019 dues gladly paid.

Last edited by Jpm757 : 01-17-2020 at 06:41 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2020, 06:51 AM
Pilotjkl Pilotjkl is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Seminole Tx (GNC)
Posts: 54
Default

My plan is to temporarily install the GNX 375 to comply with ADSB and fly it while I build my new panel with two 7” non touch G3X and a G5.
__________________
Commercial pilot
A&P
RV-6 0-320 160hp
Cessna 170A
King Air B200 Blackhawk conversion
2019 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2020, 07:34 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpm757 View Post
The GAE12 is a plug and play module that requires no wiring and should be considerably more reliable than the older ACK encoder.
Maybe folks should look a the manual before posting, the GAE12 is wired into the main plug in place of the config module.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2020, 10:50 AM
fl-mike's Avatar
fl-mike fl-mike is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotjkl View Post
My plan is to temporarily install the GNX 375 to comply with ADSB and fly it while I build my new panel with two 7” non touch G3X and a G5.
yes, the 375 will take a gray scale input from a AK-350. I recently did similar with my Lynx install. I only missed one wire.... Be sure to ground the strobe pin on the AK-350! I purchased a 15pin Dsub cable off of Amazon and cut off one end to connect to the xpndr pins. Easier and cheap. Aeroelectric has the pinout on the AK-350 if you don't have it, but it is also on the AK-350 label.
__________________
Mike W
Venice, FL
RV-6A. Mattituck TMX O-360, FP, GRT Sport EFIS, L3 Lynx NGT-9000
N164WM
N184WM reserved (RV-8)....finishing kit in progress. Titan IOX-370
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2020, 11:25 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 612
Default

My avionics dealer won't do an IFR cert if the encoder for the Garmin navigator or transponder is the GEA 12 because they always test the components and altimeter on the bench together. Since the GEA encoder stays behind with the equipment tray and is wired in they can't do the check outside the aircraft the way they like. There may be other more sophisticated shops who can do a cert on board the aircraft or know how to extract the wiring harness for a bench check (unlikely).

As a result I recommend a small Trans-Cal digital encoder for close to the same price as the GEA 24. All that is needed is a one-conductor shielded wire to send altitude to the navigator/transponder. And it can be tested on the bench in a conventional method.

Jim
__________________
RV-8
RV-3B
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.